Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X Mavericks (10.9)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 13, 2013, 03:29 AM   #1
funkyfresh69
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Folders listed first in Finder

Does anyone know how to do this in 10.9? The hack of adding a space before "folders" in the plist file that used to work doesn't anymore?
funkyfresh69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 06:07 AM   #2
D A
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I did the hack with the space before and it works for me. Remember that the file needs to be binary for it to work.
D A is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 01:49 PM   #3
5t3f4n
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Bump for interest.
I was hoping I wouldn't need apps like TotalFinder now that tabs are introduced in Finder.
But I still need a solution for "folders on top".
5t3f4n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 06:49 PM   #4
Krazy Bill
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
There is no change in how Folders are started. You can however sort by "Tags" now.
Krazy Bill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2013, 07:39 AM   #5
5t3f4n
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by D A View Post
I did the hack with the space before and it works for me. Remember that the file needs to be binary for it to work.
Would you mind writing/linking a little guide on how to do this?
5t3f4n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2013, 07:42 AM   #6
benwiggy
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
In any version of OS X, if you sort by Kind, folders will be separate.
__________________
2012 MacMini, 2.6GHz i7, 16Gb RAM, Fusion Drive | 2012 MacBook Pro, 16Gb RAM, 480 Gb SSD |
2009 MacBook | 2006 iMac | 2003 G3 iBook | Beige G3 | PowerMac 7600 | Mac IIsi |
benwiggy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2013, 08:52 AM   #7
D A
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5t3f4n View Post
Would you mind writing/linking a little guide on how to do this?
Sure
Code:
cd /System/Library/CoreServices/Finder.app/Contents/Resources/English.lproj/ (or whatever language you're running)
sudo plutil -convert xml1 InfoPlist.strings
sudo nano InfoPlist.strings (edit folder here)
sudo plutil -convert binary1 InfoPlist.strings
D A is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2013, 09:09 AM   #8
benwiggy
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
It's worth pointing out that with Apple's increased reliance on code-signing to verify the integrity of apps, modifying the Finder directly in this way may you cause you "trouble".
__________________
2012 MacMini, 2.6GHz i7, 16Gb RAM, Fusion Drive | 2012 MacBook Pro, 16Gb RAM, 480 Gb SSD |
2009 MacBook | 2006 iMac | 2003 G3 iBook | Beige G3 | PowerMac 7600 | Mac IIsi |
benwiggy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2013, 07:50 PM   #9
5t3f4n
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by benwiggy View Post
In any version of OS X, if you sort by Kind, folders will be separate.
Bunched together is not enough. They have to be first, before any files.

Quote:
Originally Posted by D A View Post
Sure
Code:
cd /System/Library/CoreServices/Finder.app/Contents/Resources/English.lproj/ (or whatever language you're running)
sudo plutil -convert xml1 InfoPlist.strings
sudo nano InfoPlist.strings (edit folder here)
sudo plutil -convert binary1 InfoPlist.strings
Thanks. I'll give this a try.
5t3f4n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2013, 09:20 PM   #10
Lolito
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: here
I used Totalfinder for a long while, and then switched to Xtrafinder, which is free and even better, as it works in such a similar way to an internet browser, and you can for example open new tabs doing middle click, like in firefox. Extra finder doesn't work now, adn i guess total finder neither. OSX finder still sucks big time...
__________________
cMBP 13" 2009 / C2D @ 2.53Ghz / 8Gb RAM / Samsung 840 Evo 120Gb + 640Gb HDD
iPod Classic 80Gb
Lolito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2013, 01:54 PM   #11
5t3f4n
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lolito View Post
I used Totalfinder for a long while, and then switched to Xtrafinder, which is free and even better, as it works in such a similar way to an internet browser, and you can for example open new tabs doing middle click, like in firefox. Extra finder doesn't work now, adn i guess total finder neither. OSX finder still sucks big time...
The method described above works on Mavericks (tried it myself) and tabs are already built in.
That takes care of most of my needs. What else do you need TotalFinder or XtraFinder for?
5t3f4n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2013, 04:28 PM   #12
w0lf
macrumors 65816
 
w0lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5t3f4n View Post
That takes care of most of my needs. What else do you need TotalFinder or XtraFinder for?
I dunno but I liked to use all these features pretty regularly

Hide desktop
Colored sidebar
Side by side tabs
Automatically adjusted column width
New document context menu
Copy path context menu
Show Hidden Items menu bar toggle
Return of cmd+x cmd+v to move an item
Return would open and cmd+return to rename
w0lf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2013, 08:06 PM   #13
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by w0lf View Post
I dunno but I liked to use all these features pretty regularly

Hide desktop
Colored sidebar
Side by side tabs
Automatically adjusted column width
New document context menu
Copy path context menu
Show Hidden Items menu bar toggle
Return of cmd+x cmd+v to move an item
Return would open and cmd+return to rename
I really thought the Finder sidebar would get recolored in 10.9, following in iTunes' footsteps. Well, there's still time.
Cougarcat is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2013, 03:46 AM   #14
Lolito
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: here
Problem now is that finder has been probably re-written, so i guess all these 3rd party apps won't work anymore...
__________________
cMBP 13" 2009 / C2D @ 2.53Ghz / 8Gb RAM / Samsung 840 Evo 120Gb + 640Gb HDD
iPod Classic 80Gb
Lolito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2013, 10:05 PM   #15
zabagabe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Sorting folders first in Mavericks Finder?

Hi all,

Since upgrading to Mavericks folders no longer show up first in Finder, which I find extremely annoying. I followed the old " folders" trick as follows:

cd /System/Library/CoreServices/Finder.app/Contents/Resources/English.lproj/
sudo plutil -convert xml1 InfoPlist.strings
sudo nano InfoPlist.strings
sudo plutil -convert binary1 InfoPlist.strings

And inserted a space before " folder" in the <string></string>. But that still doesn't work. It shows there's a space there, but that doesn't resort finder.

Anyone have any suggestions? I'd LOVE to get it back to the older arrangement.
zabagabe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2013, 10:21 PM   #16
zombiecakes
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
did you try a ~ or some other symbol? I dont think a space worked in 10.8, I had to use ~

Last edited by zombiecakes; Oct 22, 2013 at 11:02 PM.
zombiecakes is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2013, 11:19 PM   #17
zabagabe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Yeah, I tried both * and ~ and neither did anything...
zabagabe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2013, 11:52 PM   #18
RedAntisocial
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Angry

It DOES work, but only if you're arranging by Name etc. If you're like me and want to arrange by Kind with Folders at the top instead of applications it doesn't work.

I'm still poking about.
RedAntisocial is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 11:06 AM   #19
zabagabe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Yeah, it works if you sort by name, but not by kind, which is how I did it in the past...
zabagabe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 09:13 PM   #20
zombiecakes
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by zabagabe View Post
Yeah, it works if you sort by name, but not by kind, which is how I did it in the past...
are you sure? when I sort by name it just does it alphabetically with folders not being grouped together
zombiecakes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 09:30 PM   #21
RedAntisocial
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
I believe they are referring to sorting alphabetically with the old folder hack in place. If you don't have that, folders won't be at the top period.
RedAntisocial is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 10:12 PM   #22
zombiecakes
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedAntisocial View Post
I believe they are referring to sorting alphabetically with the old folder hack in place. If you don't have that, folders won't be at the top period.
I did that as well, I dont think it does anything because in list view the "kind" column used to reflect the change you made to the string, now after relaunching Finder it doesnt change and still says "Folder" instead of "~Folder"
zombiecakes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 10:14 PM   #23
KoolAid-Drink
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: California
I do this by pressing COMMAND+J in the folder I want with pictures and folders (folders on top, pictures sorted in ABC order), then in "Arrange by", I choose Name, then "Sort by", I choose Kind. This will then sort my folder with the folders first, followed by the pictures in ABC order.
KoolAid-Drink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 10:15 PM   #24
gwang73
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Francisco Area
Are you guys also noticing that after a reboot, if you use the column view and arrange by kind, it is not in alphabetical order? If you change to a different folder and switch back, it then sorts alphabetically.
__________________
do re mi fa so la ti do
2012 rMBP, iPhone 5s, iPad Mini
gwang73 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 10:43 PM   #25
zombiecakes
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoolAid-Drink View Post
I do this by pressing COMMAND+J in the folder I want with pictures and folders (folders on top, pictures sorted in ABC order), then in "Arrange by", I choose Name, then "Sort by", I choose Kind. This will then sort my folder with the folders first, followed by the pictures in ABC order.
sorting by kind sorts the file type alphabetically, if all you have are image files the folders will be first because F for "folder" comes before J, G, and P for the different image types. Do it with folders and AVI files (or DMG's), AVI's will be at the top.
zombiecakes is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X Mavericks (10.9)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sorting files by size in Finder userjoy OS X Mavericks (10.9) 7 Mar 24, 2014 01:46 AM
Sorting folders in Albums in iphoto new-to-mac Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Dec 28, 2013 10:28 AM
Sorting Finder Column View GerritV OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Dec 20, 2013 02:31 AM
Sorting photos in Finder Kobayagi OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Oct 14, 2013 10:58 AM
Default finder file/folder arranging and sorting Cache OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Aug 26, 2012 10:00 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC