Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X Mavericks (10.9)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 24, 2013, 07:01 AM   #1
Mike.Katz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Mavericks installation

An interesting "bug" occurred when installing Mavericks. My Administrator password was needed. However, I do not have an administrator password as I always leave this blank. It was never set up.

This time when prompted to enter the administrator password upon installation, and I left the field blank, it was not accepted.

It was only after I went back to settings and established a password, then started the installation again and entered the new password was I able to proceed!
Mike.Katz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2013, 07:22 AM   #2
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
It is not true that you did not have an Administrator password before. You had an Administrator password, but it was blank. This is a bad thing. This was permitted before. It appears that blank Administrator passwords are no longer permitted. This is a good thing.
__________________
Neither a borrower nor a lender be
For loan oft loses both itself and friend
William Shakespeare from Hamlet
MisterMe is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2013, 07:44 AM   #3
KaraH
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: DC
True, I hate having to set up a password as I use automatic login and practice safe networking. A blank password causes all sorts of problems though.
__________________
through the years: Apple ][ eventually upgraded to a //e (and it never really died), Centris 660AV, PowerMac 7600, Macbook, iPod 5G, eMac, a couple of aluminium iMacs, STILL hoping for a 2013 MP
KaraH is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2013, 11:18 PM   #4
scofen
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
hint is blank in administrator password

I just had a new OSX 10.9 installed on my Macbook Pro. When I try to download Adobe it asks for the administrator's password and the hint is blank. I have left it blank and typed in the word blank but it still does not work. I have read that you can change your password using your apple ID but when i go to User Groups the box that I need to tick cannot be ticked (it won't allow me to tick it). Any ideas?
scofen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2013, 11:23 PM   #5
TheBacklash
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Blank password on an Admin user=bad idea.
Not only is it not safe, they are correct.. it causes other problems.

You should always have a password..

Quote:
Originally Posted by scofen View Post
I just had a new OSX 10.9 installed on my Macbook Pro. When I try to download Adobe it asks for the administrator's password and the hint is blank. I have left it blank and typed in the word blank but it still does not work. I have read that you can change your password using your apple ID but when i go to User Groups the box that I need to tick cannot be ticked (it won't allow me to tick it). Any ideas?
When you go into the Users & Groups, the lock int he bottom left of the pane should be locked. click it and probably just hit enter to unlock and allow changes.
you should be able to enter a new password now.
__________________
I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.
TheBacklash is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X Mavericks (10.9)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC