Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gab0.1992

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 24, 2011
Hi people. I have been a watcher/reader since don't when :) now im in. I'm an semi-pro photographer, in May next year I get my BA in photography also do light graphic design and video. My photography work are more intensive specializing in beauty doing hardcore retouching and commercial stuff. I already have an Macbook pro 15" 2011 with 16GB Ram and 256Gb SSD 840 Pro which I put to it limits retouching and exporting D600's large files. Few time the machine got crazy and even went shutdown few times.

I was waiting fir the nMP but the price are over my current budget. I verify the new Retina Macbook Pro but even the maxed out one even satisfy my needs which is few better than my current setup. I discard the iMac has I already has an Thunderbolt display and its basically the same power as the retina macbook pro.

My last hope was to get an second hand, refurb or even new Mac Pro 5,1 with 8 cores put it an 32Gb ram and sdd(may be a pcie one to run high 800MBs) a kick ass GPU.

My question is, does worth invest in the MP (which makes me get rid of the display as the MP doesn't has thunderbolt) and gave me the power I need or just "wait" and get later an nMP? Any suggestions?

I hope some of you guys can help me figure it out. Thanks!!

xxBURT0Nxx

macrumors 68020
Jul 9, 2009
a mac pro is still going to be pretty expensive.

The Thunderbolt display probably won't accept the signal over mDP (seems to be pretty hit and miss). You could always sell it and pick up an Apple Cinema Display though.

wonderspark

macrumors 68040
Feb 4, 2010
Oregon
I've plugged my 30" ACD into the Thunderbolt port on my 2012 MacBook Pro with a dual-link DVI adapter, and it works fine, so I'd think your Thunderbolt display would plug into the Mini DisplayPort on the GPU of a Mac Pro just fine.