Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 25, 2013, 03:16 PM   #1
bluebird3
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
please help using skype on my Power Mac G4

I have a Power Mac G4 MDD with Mac OS 10.5.8 which is the max. for this machine... And currently have a Skype version 2.8.0.866. Installed.

I have a family over seas just got windows 8 and want to communicate via Skype. The audio was super clean and we could talk live, but no visual. I could see how my isight was working since I could go to the video tab and see myself ( not in the Skype video chat window) in the video setting window. My family said they could also see themselves just for a sec. on their screen, but goes away immediately after being logged on to the Skype.

Could you tell me what's happening and how to resolve the issue so that we could video chat?
bluebird3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 03:39 PM   #2
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
There's no fix based on your versions.

At some point after Microsoft bought Skype they killed the ability for older versions (particularly PowerPC Mac versions) to use video with newer versions of Skype on PC or Mac. If your family overseas wants to see you you will either need to get an Intel Mac that is capable of running the latest version of Skype, or your family will have to rollback to a much older version of Skype.

Even then I am not sure if it can still be done or not. There was a report here that Skype simply switched off video for older versions.

None of it is a compatibility issue, it's simply Microsoft/Skype trying to drive people to upgrades.
__________________
Sprint iPhone 5: 64GB Black/Slate iOS 7.1.2: Jailbroken
Sprint iPhone owners, THERE IS NO DOMESTIC UNLOCK!
eyoungren is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 04:36 PM   #3
ConfusedBatman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: 'Murrica
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyoungren View Post
There's no fix based on your versions.

At some point after Microsoft bought Skype they killed the ability for older versions (particularly PowerPC Mac versions) to use video with newer versions of Skype on PC or Mac. If your family overseas wants to see you you will either need to get an Intel Mac that is capable of running the latest version of Skype, or your family will have to rollback to a much older version of Skype.

Even then I am not sure if it can still be done or not. There was a report here that Skype simply switched off video for older versions.

None of it is a compatibility issue, it's simply Microsoft/Skype trying to drive people to upgrades.
Just google "Old Skype Versions" and you can get an older version. Not that hard, I actually have 2 versions, an older one for audio calls and a newer one for video and when I need to share my screen (e.g. Co-Commentary)
__________________
The Video Editor
ConfusedBatman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 05:55 PM   #4
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConfusedBatman View Post
Just google "Old Skype Versions" and you can get an older version. Not that hard, I actually have 2 versions, an older one for audio calls and a newer one for video and when I need to share my screen (e.g. Co-Commentary)
The newer version doesn't work on PowerPC Macs. Hence the phrase in eyoungren's post: "There's no fix based on your versions.".
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 6:21 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 08:09 PM   #5
OpTic Jayex
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Broken Arrow
Send a message via Skype™ to OpTic Jayex
Oldapps.com is the best site for older versions for PowerPC.
__________________
Late 2012 Mac Mini  iPhone 5S 16GB Space Grey  Apple TV 3rd Gen.  Airport Extreme
OpTic Jayex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 08:53 PM   #6
bluebird3
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Thank you all for the answers.. I thought my skype was already an old version ?

May I ask which exact version of Skype I need?

My family just bought a brand new computer PC with windows 8. I think they are using the latest version of Skype. Arnnn how does it go if I purchased a brand new just released Mac book pro or older Mac book pro with mountain lion. ?
bluebird3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 08:56 PM   #7
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
You're already using the latest version of Skype for that machine. If you want to do video sharing, you need to use a Skype 6.X client on an Intell machine.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 6:21 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 10:16 PM   #8
ConfusedBatman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: 'Murrica
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
You're already using the latest version of Skype for that machine. If you want to do video sharing, you need to use a Skype 6.X client on an Intell machine.
I meant for him to get his family to use an older version.
__________________
The Video Editor
ConfusedBatman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 10:31 PM   #9
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConfusedBatman View Post
I meant for him to get his family to use an older version.
Windows 8 cannot use an older version. The lowest version it can use is too new for anything but text chatting with the PowerPC version. It may be able to do audio, but I don't think so.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 6:21 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 11:25 AM   #10
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Windows 8 cannot use an older version. The lowest version it can use is too new for anything but text chatting with the PowerPC version. It may be able to do audio, but I don't think so.
What about compatibility mode in this case? Or is an older Windows version of Skype just too far back to work on W8?
__________________
Sprint iPhone 5: 64GB Black/Slate iOS 7.1.2: Jailbroken
Sprint iPhone owners, THERE IS NO DOMESTIC UNLOCK!
eyoungren is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 11:28 AM   #11
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyoungren View Post
What about compatibility mode in this case? Or is an older Windows version of Skype just too far back to work on W8?
I don't think that would be enough to get a PowerPC compatible version of Skype running on Windows 8.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 6:21 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 11:54 AM   #12
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
I don't think that would be enough to get a PowerPC compatible version of Skype running on Windows 8.
Yeah, I know I had to rollback to XP on one of my PCs in order to get some old games working under compatability mode. Win7 was too new and they wouldn't work under it's version of compatability mode. Seeing as 8 is even newer than 7 I can see that it wouldn't function.
__________________
Sprint iPhone 5: 64GB Black/Slate iOS 7.1.2: Jailbroken
Sprint iPhone owners, THERE IS NO DOMESTIC UNLOCK!
eyoungren is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 12:15 AM   #13
bluebird3
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Time to toss my power Mac.....

It's loud and bulky anyway, i guess I'll soon pull the trigger on Mac book pro or something.

Thax again.
bluebird3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 12:05 PM   #14
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluebird3 View Post
Time to toss my power Mac.....

It's loud and bulky anyway, i guess I'll soon pull the trigger on Mac book pro or something.

Thax again.
I'd put it on Craigslist. Plenty of people would pay for that.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 12:13 PM   #15
bluebird3
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Thank you. That's a good idea. I'll clean up the HD, well.... Get me the new computer first and transfer the data first, then clean up to sell....

wonder how much it worth tho.... I didn't know if anyone would want such an ancient machine.
bluebird3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 12:18 PM   #16
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluebird3 View Post
Thank you. That's a good idea. I'll clean up the HD, well.... Get me the new computer first and transfer the data first, then clean up to sell....

wonder how much it worth tho.... I didn't know if anyone would want such an ancient machine.
I'd take it. I'd even take a machine older than that. But I'm pretty sure the shipping would be more than the machine's worth.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 6:21 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 02:23 PM   #17
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
I'd take it.
I probably would as well.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Original Power Mac G4 Power Cable ChrisFerri Apple Collectors 21 Jul 5, 2014 11:41 AM
Power Mac G5 power issues - Red lights on CPUs gavinstubbs09 PowerPC Macs 10 Mar 23, 2014 05:34 PM
Blinking power LED on Power Mac G5 honam1021 PowerPC Macs 27 Jun 29, 2013 03:47 AM
Skype Rolls Out Free Video Messaging to Skype for Mac and iOS MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 28 Jun 19, 2013 10:17 AM
Power Mac G5 2.3 Ghz Wont Power On hectbp PowerPC Macs 15 Jun 28, 2012 03:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC