Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 11, 2005, 01:17 PM   #1
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
logic pro 7

sorry it was late last night when i posted that about logic. what i meant to say was is there any hardware connection or anything hardware-wise that comes with logic, or works with logic?
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2005, 01:29 PM   #2
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Difficult to answer:

Logic is software only, does not come with hardware

Most any Mac-compatible audio interface will work with Logic -- there are way to many to list, and we can't make recommendations without knowing what yu already have and what you plan to do with it. Check with these manufacturers: M-Audio, Edirol, Mackie, Focusrite, Tascam, Yamaha and Presonus for starters.

For more information specifically on Mac audio applications, see the excellent forum MacMusic http://www.macmusic.org/

I recommend that you study up on some of the basics with books and magazines before making a decision. Hit the library and read anything written by Craig Anderton. Good magazines to read are: Sound on Sound, Recording, Electronic Musician, Keyboard, Future Music, Computer Music, Mix. They often have articles on interfaces, how to record acoustic instruments, and microphone selection.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2005, 01:31 PM   #3
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM
Difficult to answer:

Logic is software only, does not come with hardware

Most any Mac-compatible audio interface will work with Logic -- there are way to many to list, and we can't make recommendations without knowing what yu already have and what you plan to do with it. Check with these manufacturers: M-Audio, Edirol, Mackie, Focusrite, Tascam, Yamaha and Presonus for starters.

For more information specifically on Mac audio applications, see the excellent forum MacMusic http://www.macmusic.org/

I recommend that you study up on some of the basics with books and magazines before making a decision. Hit the library and read anything written by Craig Anderton. Good magazines to read are: Sound on Sound, Recording, Electronic Musician, Keyboard, Future Music, Computer Music, Mix. They often have articles on interfaces, how to record acoustic instruments, and microphone selection.
thanks for the reply. that helped quite a bit
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2005, 06:03 PM   #4
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
is there any good guides for logic express or pro? i want to read some so i can see what i can do with it
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2005, 06:05 PM   #5
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc
is there any good guides for logic express or pro? i want to read some so i can see what i can do with it

In this case, I'd have to say that probably: Google is your friend™
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2005, 06:13 PM   #6
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellow
In this case, I'd have to say that probably: Google is your friend™
thanks, i should have thought of that
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2005, 10:12 PM   #7
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
but any tips on it would be great. i'm wondering how to import an mp3 file. i read that you can do it. could you take a real song and take the vocals out for karaoke?
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2005, 04:56 AM   #8
WinterMute
Moderator emeritus
 
WinterMute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, England
Send a message via AIM to WinterMute Send a message via MSN to WinterMute
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc
but any tips on it would be great. i'm wondering how to import an mp3 file. i read that you can do it. could you take a real song and take the vocals out for karaoke?
MP3's can be imported from the Import Audio menu.

There is no way to remove vocals from a standard stereo track with any degree of success, you'd need access to the multi-track masters for that.
__________________
"Everything in excess, moderation is for monks..." Lazarus Long
--
PotPPP, MoDTPPP
WinterMute is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2005, 01:11 PM   #9
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by WinterMute
MP3's can be imported from the Import Audio menu.

There is no way to remove vocals from a standard stereo track with any degree of success, you'd need access to the multi-track masters for that.
oh ok. i thought there might be some effect that you could do. i know adobe audition for windows can do it (it's doesn't completely remove the vocals on every song, but it makes it where you can barely hear it). oh well
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2005, 01:23 PM   #10
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc
oh ok. i thought there might be some effect that you could do. i know adobe audition for windows can do it (it's doesn't completely remove the vocals on every song, but it makes it where you can barely hear it). oh well
There are tricks you can do like cancelling the centre of the stereo image (on the theory that the lead vocals are centered) although this will also lose the bass, drums, or any other instrument that is also in the centre, and EQ to cut out the vocal range frequencies (also damages the sound of the other intruments). Audition is doing some combination of the above. But you cannot 'remove' a single track from a stereo file.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2005, 08:31 PM   #11
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM
There are tricks you can do like cancelling the centre of the stereo image (on the theory that the lead vocals are centered) although this will also lose the bass, drums, or any other instrument that is also in the centre, and EQ to cut out the vocal range frequencies (also damages the sound of the other intruments). Audition is doing some combination of the above. But you cannot 'remove' a single track from a stereo file.
could you give me a walk-through on how to do that? i'd really like to know, cuz karaoke would be great for the holidays. if you have time, or could direct me to instructions

thanks
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2005, 08:58 PM   #12
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc
could you give me a walk-through on how to do that? i'd really like to know, cuz karaoke would be great for the holidays. if you have time, or could direct me to instructions

thanks
Please, please, learn to use Google for your own research, it will do you much more long-term good than asking others to do it for you.

Google "Remove Vocals" search results
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2005, 11:50 PM   #13
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM
Please, please, learn to use Google for your own research, it will do you much more long-term good than asking others to do it for you.

Google "Remove Vocals" search results
thanks. yeah, you are right, i just thought you might know how yourself. but you are right, i do need to do research myself. but to me, asking the right people is research, right?
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mavericks GUI response:Logic pro 9 & Logic Pro X? infoseeker OS X Mavericks (10.9) 5 Apr 3, 2014 01:21 PM
Should I buy Logic Pro now or wait for Logic X? Aluminum213 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Feb 18, 2013 11:17 AM
New to Mac, Logic pro and Logic studio lstar4ever Digital Audio 9 Feb 16, 2013 11:07 AM
Used Logic Studio box vs Logic Pro in appstore MacFro Digital Audio 4 Feb 6, 2013 11:30 PM
Swap the logic board in a macbook pro mid 2010 for an early 2011 logic board croma Mac Basics and Help 4 Jan 12, 2013 01:46 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC