Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

UpsideDown

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 3, 2013
I'm an Xcode beginner, and am trying to make certain programs for practice. I've tried to make a program which would act like a story book.

It has a View and a Button. It would show a picture from an array in the View, and when the Button is pressed, it would go to the next picture in the array. However, nothing is showing up when I launch it. Not even the Button.

Here is my code:

.h:
Code:
#import <UIKit/UIKit.h>

@interface PictureBookViewController : UIViewController{
    //instance variables
    __strong IBOutlet UIImageView *myPicturePage;
    __strong IBOutlet UIButton *nextButton;
    NSArray *pictureBookImages;
    int currentPage;
    bool notLastPage;
}

//properties
//free up memory for delivering stuff to outlets
@property (retain, nonatomic)UIImageView *myPicturePage;
@property (retain, nonatomic)NSArray *pictureBookImages;
@property (retain, nonatomic)UIButton *nextButton;

//methods
- (IBAction)next:(id)sender;

@end

.m:
Code:
#import "PictureBookViewController.h"

@interface PictureBookViewController ()

@end

@implementation PictureBookViewController
@synthesize myPicturePage;
@synthesize nextButton;
@synthesize pictureBookImages;

- (void)viewDidLoad
{
    [super viewDidLoad];
	// Do any additional setup after loading the view, typically from a nib.
    notLastPage = TRUE;
    currentPage = 0;
    pictureBookImages = [[NSArray alloc] initWithObjects:
                         [UIImage imageNamed: @"Cat1.png"],
                         [UIImage imageNamed: @"Cat2.png"],
                         [UIImage imageNamed: @"Cat3.png"],
                         nil];
}

- (void)didReceiveMemoryWarning
{
    [super didReceiveMemoryWarning];
    // Dispose of any resources that can be recreated.
}

- (IBAction)next:(id)sender {
    currentPage++;

if(notLastPage){