Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Adam-

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 28, 2011
Hi,

I know there are 1billion threads about this, but I think that my example is slightly different from most. Basically my battery is terrible at the moment, today from full charge i got

USAGE: 3 hours 49 mins
STANDBY: 7hours 2 mins

I had been noticing my battery being short lived a lot lately, so for this day I:

bluetooth: OFF
Wifi (all day): OFF
autoupdates: OFF
location services: OFF
Email: Fetch manually
Airdrop : OFF
LTE: Don't have LTE contract
Brightness : around 75%

There are a few other things I turned off but i can't remember them!

I am a developer so I had the BETA until the GM, I then updated 7.0.1 etc in the usual way, i.e not Betas. I've done semi restores a couple of times (not complete wipes because i hate losing save files etc).

My question is: Does my battery Suck? Can I qualify for repair/replacement??

EDIT: I also sometimes use my iPad charger instead of iPhone charger, and I've had the phone for 6 months

Ledsteplin

macrumors 65816
Oct 23, 2013
Florence, AL
High brightness is a major battery drainer. Do you really need it at 75% brightness? I keep my 5 turned down to about 20%. Outside I turn it up. But I don't use it much outside.

C DM

macrumors Sandy Bridge
Oct 17, 2011
A few other ones to check in relation to battery (and iOS 7): background app refresh set to off, reduce motion set to on, apple diagnostics set to not send them to apple.

Try to be on the latest version (7.0.3) and see if you close off your applications yourself if that makes any difference.

As far as battery, you can try iBackupBot app (on Mac or PC) and see what your battery is like, as mentioned at https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/1665221/

B Luv

macrumors newbie
Sep 21, 2012