Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 13, 2005, 12:43 AM   #1
noel4r
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Sold eMac, do I need to format the hd?

Hello all, I just sold my eMac at ebay. It's the first computer I've ever sold and I'm wondering what I should do with the hard drive. Should I format it or just leave it alone. There isn't any personal info there that I should worry about. Also, I would appreciate it if you can give any advice on packing and shipping. I will use UPS to ship it. Thanks.
noel4r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2005, 12:51 AM   #2
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Do a Clean Installation but don't put in any registration information. Just stop the computer there and turn it off. When they boot it up they'll just put their info in and set it up as theirs.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
77 Month Old MacBook
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2005, 01:00 AM   #3
GorillaPaws
macrumors 6502a
 
GorillaPaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richmond, VA
Since there's nothing pesonal on there you're probably fine, but incase you wanted to wipe the Hard Disk, you put in the install dvd, and then select disk utility from the menu. From there you can erase a drive and under "options" (I think, maybe it's "security"), you can choose to 0 out the drive, and there are several versions of that. It'll take some time but you don't have to be standing there when it's happening. Just some info for you or anyone else.
GorillaPaws is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2005, 01:33 AM   #4
ALvie
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Not only should you do a clean install but you are supposed to send the OS software with the computer. That is only on a Mac on a PC format the drive and send it with Command Com installed only. No software.

ALvie
ALvie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2005, 01:38 AM   #5
ortuno2k
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hollywood, FL
You could format it and stop it at the registration page, like Eidorian says.
It provides the new owner a "new computer" experience
ortuno2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I Need To Disable The Sudden Motion Sensor with my HD? runofthedill MacBook Pro 1 Mar 2, 2011 02:09 PM
Do I need to unlock the iPhone first generation to not use the data plan? pabiox iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 4 Apr 26, 2010 11:43 AM
Do I need to format the HD during Vista install? iPhone3GHunt Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 4 Dec 16, 2008 10:14 AM
iPod as mass storage device for file transfer PC>Mac: do i need to format? SteveMcQ iPod 2 Apr 28, 2006 06:02 PM
Switcher Q: Installing programs; Do I need to format every 6 months like windows? prayforsnow OS X 29 Nov 5, 2005 05:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC