Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jonpeter

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 19, 2013
MI
So I've gotten through code academies html/css course and I'm attempting to teach myself javascript through a number of online resources as well as "Javascript for absolute beginners" by Terry McNavage as my main source.

Anyways, as my title explains... I need a program to test my code and whatnot. So any suggestions haha?

In the book, Mcnavage recommends the firebug extension in firefox. My problem lies in the fact that he wants me to "load the following blank HTML document, firebug.html in the downloads at http://www.apress.com, in Firefox." and i just don't understand how i am supposed to go about it. Which is frustrating.

anyways, although I am open to any suggestions, firebug's one attribute that interests me is that fact that if i were to write "superman"; in firebug, the code would run and spit out superman... that quickly. Or at least that is what I'm led to believe.

Either way, thanks for looking and any possible suggestions.

johngwheeler

macrumors 6502a
Dec 30, 2010
I come from a land down-under...
Javascript development

Firebug is an "in browser" extension that displays markup, CSS & JavaScript for the currently selected page. There are similar built-in tools for Chrome (settings->tools->developer tools) and Safari. These aren't really what I'd call development tools but are invaluable for understanding hw a web page is constructed and to provide run-time debugging.

You don't actually need anything other than a text editor to develop JavaScript, but your life will be easier if you use a decent IDE / code editor, and debugging tools such as Firebug.