Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

pmxperience

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 12, 2011
United States
I'm an amateur photographer trying to expand his horizons. The project this time around is time-lapse photography. I've seen some amazing video presentations and I would like to try my hand as well.

Does anyone have any good links, resources, recommendations, tips, tricks they would like to offer in order to help me get started?

NeGRit0

macrumors 6502a
Apr 19, 2008
Las Vegas, Nv
If you still shoot Canon like your signature says, I would look into Magic Lantern. Especially if you are wanting to do sunrises/sunsets.

diamond3

macrumors 6502a
Oct 6, 2005
http://www.prestonkanak.com is a good resource for time-lapse tutorials.

Magic Lantern firmware as recommended by Negrit0 is an excellent tool for creating a time-lapse since it has an intervalometer. It free and works with most Canon DSLRs.

Honestly, going out and practicing is what will help the most. Watch a few tutorials to get an idea on time between shots, but for the most part you're taking a picture.

As far as the post production process, that just depends on what software you have at your disposal.

Astroboy907

macrumors 65816
May 6, 2012
Spaceball One
Depends on where you want to go with videography and all that, but I do recommend Magic Lantern as said before, but if you want to get more involved and in depth (e.g. motion controlled pan/tilt/shift time lapses), than I would look into projects and products such as an Emotimo TB3, Merlin, or a GigaPan and perhaps a dolly (Chronos, MX1) of some sort (I can tell you a lot more about this as I am trying to build my own diy motion control rig).

I've wanted to do this stuff for a while but engineering my own rig is kind of a pain :D

A link:
timescapes.org

nburwell

macrumors 603
May 6, 2008
DE