Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Moccasin

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Mar 21, 2011
Newcastle, UK
I travel a lot - I have an hour or so on the train to/from work - and am seriously contemplating an iPad (probably mini retina).

Until yesterday, I was intending to get the cellular version but now it seems I can upgrade my iPhone O2 tariff to 4G and get 5GB data for an extra £10/month. Given that a basic data sim for the iPad is about £10/mth, I would be getting more data with one sim for the same cost as 2 sims and save the additional £100 up front cost of the cellular iPad version. I wasn't previously bothered by 4G, as the signal won't cover much of my use patterns, but the extra data is useful as I sometimes go over my current 1GB limit and have to top up.

I've not done much tethering in the past as usually if I have my MBA with me, I'll be in a hotel or family member's home with wifi.

How have others got on with tethering in this way? Is BT tethering better than wifi? What's the battery drain? Using my iPhone on the train now drains the battery quite quickly - mainly due to patchy cellular signal (another reason for not spending on the cellular iPad - connection will be variable while on the train but good enough for reading or updating blog etc).

If I do go for wifi only, I then have to decide whether to keep the money, upgrade to the next model up (32GB) or go for the Air instead....

janitor1999

macrumors regular
Sep 9, 2008