Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

screensaver400

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 28, 2005
I studied a social science in college. I was one of the "mathiest" students in my department, but my experience is more in statistics. I took algebra and geometry in high school, then a few stats courses.

Now I'm interested in iOS development, and thinking of getting started with the Stanford iTunes U courses (including the more basic CS course that comes before iOS Development).

Will I be okay in the math department? Or do I need to take more general math first? And if so, what math courses would you advise?

Duncan C

macrumors 6502a
Jan 21, 2008
Northern Virginia
I studied a social science in college. I was one of the "mathiest" students in my department, but my experience is more in statistics. I took algebra and geometry in high school, then a few stats courses.

Now I'm interested in iOS development, and thinking of getting started with the Stanford iTunes U courses (including the more basic CS course that comes before iOS Development).

Will I be okay in the math department? Or do I need to take more general math first? And if so, what math courses would you advise?

The short answer is that it depends.

For business software, hardly any.

Graphics tends to be fairly math intensive. Trig, geometry, algebra. Also a healthy dose of matrix math, mostly for manipulating transformation matrices for 3D graphics or other uses of hardware-accellerated graphics engines.

Being good at logic, proofs, and deductive reasoning is a very good foundation for programming. Set theory and boolean algebra also come in quite handy.

Animation in iOS tends to use a fair amount of trig and matrix math, so it would be good to brush up on that stuff.

chown33

Staff member
Aug 9, 2009
A sea of green