Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 17, 2005, 08:59 PM   #1
doucy2
macrumors 65816
 
doucy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Send a message via AIM to doucy2
I Have 2 Powermac G4 Related Questions, Help

1: the first one is my Quicksilver G4, it has a OWC Mercury Extreme 1.4ghz upgrade card
well the fan attached to the heatsink on it started making high pitched sounds and sounding griddy a little, so i shut it down and am now on my lappy.
What would cause that fan to do that?

2: my second question any one know what colors the Led's on G4 light up as.
I have two that look like sawtooths but one lights up a white power button and the other power button is green
so i know one is a sawtooth (agp), what kind of g4 is the other (digital audio, gigbite ethernet, or another sawtooth with a different led)
any knowledge, on either of these topics would be helpful

cheers
__________________
13" MBP 2.8ghz i7, Apple TV 1, iPhone 4S, 2x APE; WTB Intel Mini
doucy2 is offline   0
Old Dec 17, 2005, 09:48 PM   #2
ReanimationLP
macrumors 68030
 
ReanimationLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On the moon.
Green light is a Sawtooth, white is DA.

The fan may need to have its bearings lubed. Just put a drop of oil in.

If that doesnt fix it, rip it off and get a new fan.
__________________
"For what am I living?"
I want to shout it out loud. Can you hear me?


Stuff for Sale :3
ReanimationLP is offline   0
Old Dec 17, 2005, 09:54 PM   #3
doucy2
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
doucy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Send a message via AIM to doucy2
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReanimationLP
Green light is a Sawtooth, white is DA.

The fan may need to have its bearings lubed. Just put a drop of oil in.

If that doesnt fix it, rip it off and get a new fan.
cool
so can i put a dual processor in the DA

i'll try the oil trick
i also contacted OWC, and they will try get back to me soon (maby i'll get a new fan out of it)
__________________
13" MBP 2.8ghz i7, Apple TV 1, iPhone 4S, 2x APE; WTB Intel Mini
doucy2 is offline   0
Old Dec 17, 2005, 10:00 PM   #4
840quadra
Moderator
 
840quadra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Land of Free outdoor Freezers
Quote:
Originally Posted by doucy2
cool
so can i put a dual processor in the DA

i'll try the oil trick
i also contacted OWC, and they will try get back to me soon (maby i'll get a new fan out of it)
Yes, and you can put that logic board in a Quicksilver case without any issues.

Below is my "QuickAudio" Dual 533.



The port arangment on the Digital Audio is exactly the same as the Quicksilver, hence the logic board will fit in the quicksilver case without any modification.



840quadra is offline   0
Old Dec 17, 2005, 10:02 PM   #5
doucy2
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
doucy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Send a message via AIM to doucy2
I reaserched the DA a little more
and its says it only has 3 ram slots
the mac that i have has 4 ram slots and it lights the white led though
this is making it even more confusing

way cool case
what is covering the processor??
__________________
13" MBP 2.8ghz i7, Apple TV 1, iPhone 4S, 2x APE; WTB Intel Mini

Last edited by doucy2; Dec 17, 2005 at 10:25 PM.
doucy2 is offline   0
Old Dec 17, 2005, 10:36 PM   #6
840quadra
Moderator
 
840quadra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Land of Free outdoor Freezers
Quote:
Originally Posted by doucy2
I reaserched the DA a little more
and its says it only has 3 ram slots
the mac that i have has 4 ram slots and it lights the white led though
this is making it even more confusing
Late model Gigabit Ethernet models had White LED's as well. What does system profiler say your ethernet card is?

The Digital Audio had the fastest Graphite cased logic board (133MHZ FSB like the Quicksilver). it is almost identical to the Quicksilver, with the exception of the power supply connector, and the "4th" processor foot that actually runs power to the Quicksilver processors.

Quote:
way cool case
what is covering the processor??
The cover is a fan shroud, and fan for the dual processors.
840quadra is offline   0
Old Dec 17, 2005, 10:39 PM   #7
doucy2
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
doucy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Send a message via AIM to doucy2
Quote:
Originally Posted by 840quadra
Late model Gigabit Ethernet models had White LED's as well. What does system profiler say your ethernet card is?
ok then it probally is a gigabit then
i'll check into it some more
thanks for all you insight
__________________
13" MBP 2.8ghz i7, Apple TV 1, iPhone 4S, 2x APE; WTB Intel Mini
doucy2 is offline   0
Old Dec 18, 2005, 12:28 PM   #8
doucy2
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
doucy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Send a message via AIM to doucy2
can the gigabit ethernet support duals??

i oiled the fan like sugested and no more noise (thanks man for the tip)
OWC e-mailed me back and asked if there was anything in the fans way and if it had excess dust
i am going to persue getting a replacement fan still because i want to replace it and have a trustworth fan in there
__________________
13" MBP 2.8ghz i7, Apple TV 1, iPhone 4S, 2x APE; WTB Intel Mini
doucy2 is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I now have 3 PowerMac G4's, and 2 iMac G3's.. what to do with them? alexreich PowerPC Macs 8 Oct 11, 2011 12:02 PM
Resolved: Best (fastest/reliable) form of networking for an old PowerMac media server? alexreich PowerPC Macs 11 Sep 13, 2011 07:07 AM
Powermac G4 Hackintosh advice? Qwertyfish11 PowerPC Macs 13 Jul 11, 2011 09:15 PM
I have been a PC user for 20 years and now have a PowerMac G4... JoePeach Mac Basics and Help 8 Sep 9, 2009 08:43 AM
Let's say I have a PowerMac G4 400 Gigabit Ethernet and $400-$500.. what to do? Chrispy Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 4 May 15, 2005 09:54 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC