Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sergiobaschi

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 30, 2012
Gothenburg, Sweden
I've decided to learn AppleScripting. I've done some very basic scripts, such as on start up, connect to server X and Y, open this website etc etc, but want to go deeper.

I've found this book. It's almost 6 years old, so I'm thinking there must be something newer out there?

If you have any recommendations, please let me know.

(I am not a professional developer, but know Objective-C, Java and Javascript on various levels.)

Thank you for any input.

ArtOfWarfare

macrumors G3
Nov 26, 2007
I'm curious - what makes you think there's more to learn? What do you want to do with it that you can't already do?

AppleScript was created with the intent of being a basic scripting language that anyone, even people who don't know any other programming languages, could pick up quickly.

Further, I think Apple has pretty much abandoned it. Automator has kind of replaced it.

Just reading a book doesn't teach you languages - using a language teaches you it. I'd suggest coming up with something you'd like to do then, if you can't do it on your own, asking.

sergiobaschi

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 30, 2012
Gothenburg, Sweden
Naturally I can just stop by here and ask every time I encounter a problem. (That's how I've learned Javascript and HTML.) But at this moment, I think it's more time efficient to get deeper knowledge by doing some studying.

Basically: when I learned Javascript, I learned that document.write('hello');
wrote "hello". But I didn't know why I had to write out "document". Things like that.

What I would like to be able to do:
I want to be able to add more logic to the programming. I want to learn about if:s and loops and how to use arrays and how to store information, temporary and over time.

More practical examples of what I would like to be able to do: