Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gjarold

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 14, 2007
I have a late 2008 MBA running snow leopard.

I would like to have this system reloaded from scratch with mavericks. No upgrades, no loading one OS and then loading a newer one on top ... I am going to boot to a linux CD and dd my hard drive, wiping it out completely.

Then I will go to genius bar and just shrug and say "me want mavericks".

Two questions:

1. Am I correct that they can just boot off USB mavericks install media and load mavericks from scratch, with no upgrading from one OS to another ?

2. Any reason this won't work or will backfire or ... something ?

Thanks.

pepede

macrumors member
Mar 6, 2012
You can do it yourself by preparing usb drive. There is many tutorials in web.

gjarold

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 14, 2007
Hmmm....

So, I followed some instructions - downloaded mavericks.app, opened it up, found the baseinstall.dmg, or whatever, and made a bootable USB stick.

So far so good.

The problem is, it's not the entire installation - it still connects to the Internet to do several *gigabytes* of additional downloaded components.

This is very difficult on my satellite link in a rural area.

So, a followup question is:

Is it possible to get *all* of mavericks installation onto the USB drive so that you can do the install completely from USB ? I don't mind the connection to apple to check my availability or my license or whatever, but I cannot download the OS ... I need the actual install local, on local media.

harrisonw1998

macrumors regular
Jul 18, 2011
I don't think that it downloads other components--it should have everything in the installer app. Are you sure it is downloading and not just taking a while installing because it is perfectly normal for a very long install time...

gjarold

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 14, 2007