Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > iOS Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 12, 2013, 04:56 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Remote iOS App Updated to Add iTunes Radio Control on Mac or PC




Apple has updated its Remote iOS app to add control of iTunes Radio on iTunes on the Mac or PC. Previously, Remote could not control iTunes Radio on computers.

The app was previously updated in early November with an iOS 7-inspired redesign.
Quote:
Remote is designed to be in perfect sync with iTunes. With just a few taps on your iPad, iPhone or iPod touch, you can play iTunes Radio from anywhere in your home. Choose playlists, songs, and albums as if you were in front of your computer or Apple TV. Or play them from iCloud with iTunes Match on Apple TV. Control your Apple TV with the flick of your finger or use the keyboard to quickly tap out a title instead of clicking letters on the Apple TV screen.
Remote is a free download for the iPad and iPhone from the App Store. [Direct Link]

Article Link: Remote iOS App Updated to Add iTunes Radio Control on Mac or PC
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2013, 04:58 PM   #2
RoelJuun
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Please update iTunes Radio to support the rest of the world?
RoelJuun is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2013, 05:17 PM   #3
CarlosQG
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoelJuun View Post
Please update iTunes Radio to support the rest of the world?
And while they're at it, update Keynote Remote to support the iPhone 5S and iOS 7...
__________________
"Only hire people you wanna have dinner with" —Tom Ford.

Check out my portfolio! https://www.behance.net/CarlosQG
CarlosQG is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2013, 05:36 PM   #4
CrazyForApple
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Buffalo, NY
Send a message via AIM to CrazyForApple
I do not understand why it wasn't there in the last update but it's nice that it's there now
CrazyForApple is online now   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2013, 06:15 PM   #5
Sirious
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Looks like they slightly updated the icon too.
Sirious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2013, 06:19 PM   #6
Parasprite
macrumors 6502a
 
Parasprite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
I use Remote on my AppleTV when...
  1. I don't feel like using the arrow buttons on the remote to type something
  2. I lose the remote or run out of battery
  3. I want to annoy my wife

Anything else and it's just too awkward to navigate with.
__________________
Has anyone, anywhere, ever actually used ~/Pictures/iPod Photo Cache/ for anything besides deleting or hiding it?
Parasprite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2013, 06:44 PM   #7
caliguy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
I love the overall design of this app, particularly the player page. I hope the Music app follows suite.
caliguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2013, 07:15 PM   #8
TsMkLg068426
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Please update iTunes where it does not repeat the same songs and does not play crappy Pop music or just make it like Spotify.
__________________
21.5" iMac, 2.7GHz, Intel Core i5, 4GB Memory, 1 TB HD, Mac OS X Lion 10.7.2; 32 GB iPod Touch iOS 5.0.1
TsMkLg068426 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2013, 08:35 PM   #9
Evostar*
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Does this app support "up next" features? Couldn't seem to find this option last time I used it. Also I always had to play tv/movies twice to get them to play. As on the first attempt it would make the screen go black then exit back to the selection page. But a second time and it works as it supposed to.

Really wanted the ir remote. But have the 2010 no ir port macbook : (
Evostar* is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2013, 09:45 PM   #10
caliguy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evostar* View Post
Does this app support "up next" features? Couldn't seem to find this option last time I used it. Also I always had to play tv/movies twice to get them to play. As on the first attempt it would make the screen go black then exit back to the selection page. But a second time and it works as it supposed to.

Really wanted the ir remote. But have the 2010 no ir port macbook : (
Yep. It's at the bottom middle when a song is being played.
caliguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2013, 10:36 PM   #11
darkfiber
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoelJuun View Post
Please update iTunes Radio to support the rest of the world?
I am sure it will be released to other countries eventually. They have to do licensing deals with many major music labels and I would imagine it is on a country by country basis. Spotify took years of negotiations with music labels before it was available in the US.
__________________
iPhone 5s (64GB) AT&T "Space Gray" 09-25-2013
darkfiber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2013, 10:40 PM   #12
xlost6
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
So are they going to neglect the Keynote Remote? I mean that app hasn't been updated in 2 years. Let alone has retina display compatibility or iPhone 5 screen compatibility!

Come on,
xlost6 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2013, 12:35 AM   #13
Cloudsurfer
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
that would be nice if we actually had itunes radio to begin with.
Cloudsurfer is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2013, 06:17 AM   #14
inselstudent
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cloudsurfer View Post
that would be nice if we actually had itunes radio to begin with.
You can use iTunes Radio anywhere using a US iTunes account. I do that here in Germany.

Regarding the app: am I too stupid or is there still no way to edit or delete a station from the remote app? Can't even use the star button as it's greyed out for me. Basically all this update allows me to do is choosing another station or make a new one from a current song.
inselstudent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2013, 07:08 AM   #15
Robert.Walter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Big missing feature is ability to control apple tv volume with the remote app.
Robert.Walter is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2013, 08:21 AM   #16
secDJ
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Exclamation Please help

In the description of the update it says u can control the features and my own created radio stations. Is somebody seeing that? I can only skip and star the current song... Can't play from my stations, or even see them in my remote... Please can somebody tell me if I am missing something? Thanks.
secDJ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2013, 08:22 AM   #17
somethingelsefl
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by inselstudent View Post
You can use iTunes Radio anywhere using a US iTunes account. I do that here in Germany.

Regarding the app: am I too stupid or is there still no way to edit or delete a station from the remote app? Can't even use the star button as it's greyed out for me. Basically all this update allows me to do is choosing another station or make a new one from a current song.
Yea, it looks like you cannot delete a station from within the Remote App, you'd have to go into the Music App for that. Weird.

As for "starring" it depends on the station. Certain curated stations do not allow starring (i.e. "Top 100" stations). Otherwise the starring works for me from Remote App.
somethingelsefl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2013, 01:40 PM   #18
chirpie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert.Walter View Post
Big missing feature is ability to control apple tv volume with the remote app.
I'll need to check this when I get home, but I think it's there, it's just really well hidden.

This is off my memory

1. Choose the Apple TV you want to control with the remote app.

2. When using this screen (see "menu-menu" attachment) tap menu.

3. Navigate to the available devices. (see "appletv" attachment)

4. See that blue bar just to the left of the checked device name? Tapping left or right when it's selected should change the volume.

Someone check and see if I'm crazy. ^_^
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	menu-menu.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	15.1 KB
ID:	451616   Click image for larger version

Name:	appletv.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	40.1 KB
ID:	451617  

Last edited by chirpie; Dec 13, 2013 at 01:49 PM.
chirpie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2013, 07:09 PM   #19
Jefferyd32
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Portland, Or
Now if only you could choose multiple speakers. I have several Airport Expresses and would like to be able to choose iTunes radio to stream on more than just one set.
Jefferyd32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2013, 09:56 PM   #20
chirpie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
OK I was slightly off. Do the following:

1. Choose the ATV you want to use if you have more than one.

2. Start playing the movie/song of your choice

3. Hit the bottom left icon to the left of the menu button (as shown in the attachment)

4. Navigate from subtitles to speakers and choose the device you want to hear audio out of.

5. Tap left and right to raise or lower the volume bar to the right of the device name as shown in the attachment.


The limitation of this is this only works if you want to change the volume of an alternate device you want to send the audio to. So it's not as useful as some overall audio control for that actual device in front of you and you can't select multiple sources like you can from desktop iTunes.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 1.PNG
Views:	1
Size:	68.3 KB
ID:	451674   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo-2.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	100.7 KB
ID:	451675  
chirpie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2013, 11:23 PM   #21
flatfoot99
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jefferyd32 View Post
Now if only you could choose multiple speakers. I have several Airport Expresses and would like to be able to choose iTunes radio to stream on more than just one set.
it doesnt work when you hit the airplay icon and select your devices? (make sure it says single)
flatfoot99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2013, 12:44 AM   #22
Jefferyd32
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Portland, Or
It lets me select from my different speakers but died not let me select more than one at a time.
Jefferyd32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2013, 01:15 AM   #23
David G.
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Spokane, WA
All I want is front row back with my IR remote.
David G. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2013, 07:42 AM   #24
Robert.Walter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by chirpie View Post
OK I was slightly off. Do the following:

1. Choose the ATV you want to use if you have more than one.

2. Start playing the movie/song of your choice

3. Hit the bottom left icon to the left of the menu button (as shown in the attachment)

4. Navigate from subtitles to speakers and choose the device you want to hear audio out of.

5. Tap left and right to raise or lower the volume bar to the right of the device name as shown in the attachment.


The limitation of this is this only works if you want to change the volume of an alternate device you want to send the audio to. So it's not as useful as some overall audio control for that actual device in front of you and you can't select multiple sources like you can from desktop iTunes.
Thanks for your efforts to look into/explain.

Even with such functionality, it seems complicated and limited, esp compared to a traditional TV remote. Why the heck can't Apple just put a vertical virtual slider up/down the whole side? (Sometimes it is necessary to quickly adjust volume on the fly, as well as hit a mute button; not having this done easy is very incomplete.)
Robert.Walter is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2013, 09:24 AM   #25
flatfoot99
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jefferyd32 View Post
It lets me select from my different speakers but died not let me select more than one at a time.
make sure it says single (click on multiple) in the airplay icon.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert.Walter View Post
Thanks for your efforts to look into/explain.

Even with such functionality, it seems complicated and limited, esp compared to a traditional TV remote. Why the heck can't Apple just put a vertical virtual slider up/down the whole side? (Sometimes it is necessary to quickly adjust volume on the fly, as well as hit a mute button; not having this done easy is very incomplete.)
click on the airplay icon and make sure it says single(not multiple). There should be a slider under each device.
flatfoot99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > iOS Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC