Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ab2c4

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 21, 2013
My wife and I bought our first Mac almost two years ago, a 13" MBA 2011 with OSx 10.7 (128gb, 4GB RAM). We install any updates available for it and it is currently 10.7.5 and runs perfectly. We only use it for internet, paying bills online and MS Office occasionally.

Will will run into compatibility issues or problems 2,3,4 years down the road if we don't upgrade the OS? Will Apple continue to put out updates to 10.7.x for awhile? I guess I am just hesitant to upgrade to 10.9 since I have been reading about a lot of issues with it right now, our MBA is running great as is, and I am fairly new to OSx still and not sure what to do.

DeltaMac

macrumors G5
Jul 30, 2003
Delaware
10.7 is now two generations behind the current 10.9
Apple tends to stop any updates, other than the occasional app update, such as Safari or iTunes - and the newest versions either are not supported on 10.7 already, or may have features that are not availability. The latest update of any great value is a security update, and Apple, so far, continues with security updates for 10.6, one generation older than yours. I expect that Apple is just about done with updates for that, and you can expect no more updates for Lion in about a year, I suppose.
That doesn't automatically mean that your Mac suddenly stops working.
My opinion is that if you can still do what you need, the computer is still useful - to you, and updates are not really relevant.
I did some work for a man about 5 years ago who used a Mac Plus as a business invoice printer, with the same software (and hardware) from 25 years ago. I haven't heard in a couple of years, but the old Mac was still in daily use, because it continued to do what he wanted (and he can still find ribbons for the old ImageWriter that he uses :D )