Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 22, 2005, 08:27 PM   #1
mznan5
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Boston
New to macs and in need of some help!!

Hey All,

I'm new to this site and to macs in general. I recently bought an iBook G4 after using PCs my whole life. Its taking me a while to adjust to the changes. I can't get over the fact that the mousepad doesn't have a right click!

Anyways, I have a problem and was hoping some of you who are much more experienced with all things Apple could help me with. I have an iPod photo that was formatted for Windows on my old PC laptop. Now that I have the iBook I want to switch my iPod so that it works on my mac.

When I plug the iPod into the iBook, the computer recognizes it but it asks me:

"A new software update (1.2) has been detected for your iPod. Do you want to update your iPod now?"

When I click "yes" it says:

"An error has occured. This updater can not update a windows-formatted iPod (FAT). Try restoring or using the windows updater."

It says that if I restore to factory settings the iPod will lose all the files on it. I'm okay with losing the files because I have all of them on my iBook iTunes, but will restoring mean that the iPod will become mac-formatted instead of windows-formatted? If not, what do I do to get my windows-formatted iPod to work on my mac?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

-Mac Newbie.
mznan5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2005, 08:39 PM   #2
mojohanna
macrumors 6502a
 
mojohanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cleveland
Yes a restore will reformat the disc for mac. Since you already have your songs on itunes on the ibook, there should be no other worries.
Have fun and enjoy!
__________________
Al MB 2.4 2G ram
mojohanna is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2005, 09:54 PM   #3
Laser47
macrumors 6502a
 
Laser47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Maryland
Also if you want to keep your ipod windows formatted so both windows and mac can read it since windows doesnt read HFS (mac) formatted disks.
To do this just download the updater for your ipod on your pc and then you can update it instead of restore it.
__________________
iBook G4 14" 1.42ghz, 1.5gb RAM, 100gb 7200rpm Travelstar, 4G iPod 40gb
Laser47 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2005, 11:16 PM   #4
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
I have a PC formatted iPod and it works fine on my iBook, only thing is when I want to update the software (not bloody likely anymore, my 3G is now officially ancient) I have to find someone willing to let me use their PC.

Otherwise it works just fine and I can use it on PC's and Macs alike because Mac can read and write to FAT32 whilst PC's can't read nor write to HFS.

So, to answer your question, use someone else's PC to update your iPod and keep it PC formatted. Or, restore it, lose the PC formatting but you'll be able to use your iBook to update if and when new iPod software versions come out.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2005, 09:39 AM   #5
freeny
macrumors 68020
 
freeny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Location: Location:
Quote:
Originally Posted by mznan5
Hey All,
I'm new to this site and to macs in general. I recently bought an iBook G4 after using PCs my whole life. Its taking me a while to adjust to the changes. I can't get over the fact that the mousepad doesn't have a right click!
Just plug your old 3 button mouse into the mac. It will work just as you are used to. Or if you must use the one button mouse, press the "control" button on your keypad then click with the mouse and this will do the same thing as right click.
freeny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2005, 09:57 AM   #6
TheMasin9
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Huber Heights, OH
Send a message via AIM to TheMasin9
wow

Quote:
Originally Posted by freeny
Just plug your old 3 button mouse into the mac. It will work just as you are used to. Or if you must use the one button mouse, press the "control" button on your keypad then click with the mouse and this will do the same thing as right click.
sarcasm anyone. Be nice to the mac noobs, its comments like that that will scare off new mr comers
__________________
Mac Pro, G4 Powerbook
iPhone 5
iPad 2
Xbox 360s
TheMasin9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2005, 10:21 AM   #7
MacAficionado
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: An awesome place
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMasin9
sarcasm anyone. Be nice to the mac noobs, its comments like that that will scare off new mr comers
I don't know if I missed something, but I hear no sarcasm in that.
__________________
17" iMac Intel Core Duo 1.5Gb RAM
MacAficionado is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why do you use Macs? shinyoctopus Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 31 Apr 23, 2013 08:07 PM
Same OS X on 2 Macs Macnewbies Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Mar 26, 2013 06:49 AM
Hi there new to macs Tezzamacuser PowerPC Macs 31 Aug 17, 2012 03:12 PM
Used macs? rantingrich Mac Pro 8 Jul 3, 2012 05:15 PM
So after seeing all the new Macs... Yumunum MacBook Pro 6 Jun 13, 2012 05:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC