Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 22, 2013, 08:31 PM   #1
HappyDude20
macrumors 68020
 
HappyDude20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Does TETHERME work w/ iOS 7 JB?

It's the sole reason I'll jailbreak. Can anyone confirm tether me works with this new jailbreak?

Oh, that and LocationHolic, but that's different.
__________________
iPad & iPhone Only
HappyDude20 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 08:33 PM   #2
KeegM480
macrumors 6502a
 
KeegM480's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Orlando
its working for me
__________________
 15" MacBook Pro (2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, 240 SSD, 500 HDD) | PowerMac G5 (2GHz, 2GB RAM, 460GB) 
iMac G3 (400MHz, 512MB RAM, 40GB) | iPad Mini (16GB, White) | iPhone 5S (16GB, Gold)
KeegM480 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 08:38 PM   #3
p0x
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
p0x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 08:38 PM   #4
Demonface
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Jersey/Miami
does it work for the iPhone 5S ?
__________________
Current Devices : iPhone 6 Plus 128GB Space Gray
Previous Devices : iPhone 5s Gold 32GB , iPhone 5 Slate 16GB , iPhone 4s 16Gb White , iPhone 3G+3GS
Demonface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 08:41 PM   #5
HappyDude20
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
HappyDude20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
I'd imagine it would work on any idevice
HappyDude20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 08:49 PM   #6
goobot
macrumors 601
 
goobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: long island NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyDude20 View Post
I'd imagine it would work on any idevice
I wouldn't be too sure, i remember it being updated in the past to support certain devices.
__________________
Unibody Macbook |iPad|Apple TV 2|Black iPhone 6
goobot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 09:34 PM   #7
rick snagwell
macrumors 68040
 
rick snagwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: oceanside, ca
does this work on 5s?
__________________
------||------
rick snagwell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 09:54 PM   #8
Demonface
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Jersey/Miami
Quote:
Originally Posted by rick snagwell View Post
does this work on 5s?
Im wondering the same thing.
__________________
Current Devices : iPhone 6 Plus 128GB Space Gray
Previous Devices : iPhone 5s Gold 32GB , iPhone 5 Slate 16GB , iPhone 4s 16Gb White , iPhone 3G+3GS
Demonface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 09:58 PM   #9
aPple nErd
macrumors 68000
 
aPple nErd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jailbreaks/IOS Hacks
so it's confirmed working?
__________________
iPhone 6 space grey, iPhone 5 White/Silver, iPod Tough 5 Blue, iPad 3 White, iPod Touch 4 White -- All Jailbroken except the 6 :P
iMac Mid 2011 21.5"
aPple nErd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 10:00 PM   #10
Scarphac3
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demonface View Post
Im wondering the same thing.
It installs fine on my 5s but nothing shows up in settings
Scarphac3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 10:03 PM   #11
Trevornewell
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Afaik any mod or package that uses mobile substrate will not work on a 5s because it's a 64 bit processor and the substrate will not work at all. I've tried and I can't get anything to run on my 5s because of the. 64 bit thing
Trevornewell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 10:27 PM   #12
HankHowdy
macrumors 68020
 
HankHowdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victorville CA
It is working on my 4S 7.0.4 Verizon.
__________________
"It just works."
HankHowdy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 11:02 PM   #13
vols
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
I get a "This product is not supported on your iOS version"...
vols is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 11:04 PM   #14
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Be patient people. Things will get updated.
Its not even a day since the JB came out.
Applejuiced is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 11:08 PM   #15
HankHowdy
macrumors 68020
 
HankHowdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victorville CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by vols View Post
I get a "This product is not supported on your iOS version"...
I already purchased it on iOS 6 jailbreak.

I just installed it anyway.
__________________
"It just works."
HankHowdy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 11:11 PM   #16
vols
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Nevermind...all good. Forgot an all important source to add. It's been a minute for me..
vols is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 11:14 PM   #17
HankHowdy
macrumors 68020
 
HankHowdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victorville CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by vols View Post
Nevermind...all good. Forgot an all important source to add. It's been a minute for me..
You don't need to install a source for tetherme.
__________________
"It just works."
HankHowdy is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 11:17 PM   #18
vols
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by HankHowdy View Post
You don't need to install a source for tetherme.
Oh, I know...
vols is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 11:20 PM   #19
powerstrokin
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by vols View Post
nevermind...all good. Forgot an all important source to add. It's been a minute for me..
lol...
powerstrokin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 11:20 PM   #20
HankHowdy
macrumors 68020
 
HankHowdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victorville CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by vols View Post
Oh, I know...
Lame dude. It's 5 bucks. Well worth it.
__________________
"It just works."
HankHowdy is online now   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 11:28 PM   #21
HappyDude20
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
HappyDude20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Quote:
Originally Posted by HankHowdy View Post
Lame dude. It's 5 bucks. Well worth it.
Agreed. When I first began researching tethering apps years ago I admit I scoured free and pirated version, however always with the intention of supporting the developer of the app I'd eventually used. At the time, PDAnet was the main go to app but I found it cumbersome; then I finally located TetherMe and paid instantly. It's truly been a value for me as I've used my unlimited date to tether 30gb's a month from my phone when my home internet service was cut off.

This again being my main reason to JB, seeing as I now have an ipad with me at all places. A true value.
__________________
iPad & iPhone Only
HappyDude20 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 11:30 PM   #22
powerstrokin
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2013
Damn. TetherMe enables the "set up personal hotspot" button but I can't enable tethering unless I call Sprint. P

This is the sole reason for me to jailbreak.

Yeah yeah it's only been one day. I know. Hopefully it gets sorted out.

Edit- never mind. Seems to have cleared itself up.

TetherMe working fine now. iPhone 5, iOS 7.0.4

Last edited by powerstrokin; Dec 22, 2013 at 11:51 PM.
powerstrokin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 11:50 PM   #23
HankHowdy
macrumors 68020
 
HankHowdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victorville CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerstrokin View Post
Damn. TetherMe enables the "set up personal hotspot" button but I can't enable tethering unless I call Sprint.

This is the sole reason for me to jailbreak.

Yeah yeah it's only been one day. I know. Hopefully it gets sorted out.
It should be working. You need these things installed for it to work. Mobile substrate, preference loader, network cmds, tether me. Make sure you use the official tether me.

Once you reboot or power cycle the device you will loose all these items. You will have to reinstall them.

Also tether me doesn't work on 64bit devices. Perhaps why it's working well on my 4S.
__________________
"It just works."
HankHowdy is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2013, 11:58 PM   #24
powerstrokin
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by HankHowdy View Post
It should be working. You need these things installed for it to work. Mobile substrate, preference loader, network cmds, tether me. Make sure you use the official tether me.

Once you reboot or power cycle the device you will loose all these items. You will have to reinstall them.

Also tether me doesn't work on 64bit devices. Perhaps why it's working well on my 4S.
Edited my post as you were replying.
powerstrokin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2013, 12:00 AM   #25
HankHowdy
macrumors 68020
 
HankHowdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victorville CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerstrokin View Post
Edited my post as you were replying.
That's awesome.
__________________
"It just works."
HankHowdy is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General: TetherMe update for iOS 7 now in Cydia. HankHowdy Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 83 Mar 10, 2014 11:14 PM
iPhone: TetherMe to iOS 7 cclloyd Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 15 Oct 30, 2013 04:17 PM
Signs of Apple's Work on iOS 7.0.1, iOS 7.0.2, iOS 7.1, and iOS 8 Showing Up in Web Logs MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 131 Sep 20, 2013 04:00 PM
iPhone: TetherMe.....used to work. HankHowdy Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Apr 14, 2013 11:07 AM
iPhone: Tetherme ios 5.1.1? greggonzo1 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Aug 20, 2012 04:04 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC