Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MICHAELSD

macrumors 603
Original poster
Jul 13, 2008
NJ
Huge Xmas love for somebody with a tip! I've got over 100 songs that sound good to great without instruments but since my composing skills are inadequate I'm not as blown away by final projects as I'd like to be. I kid you not, I've been working on one album of ~ 13 songs for 4 years while writing plenty more songs. I'm more interested in perfection since I know this could be a great album if my DAW composing skills were better. Just haven't been happy with recordings or get frustrated with putting in a lot of work for mediocre instrument tracks that don't come together as well as they do in my head. Lynda's courses were okay and I've found many YouTube tutorials but still want a professional record label sound... Or at least the ability to craft full song demos with instrument track within a few hours. No, I don't have any songs online yet :).

Destroysall

macrumors 65816
Feb 28, 2012
United States
I'm afraid I don't understand the question completely. What is it that you don't like about your songs and how they sound? I know you said they aren't coming together as you had imagined, but what do YOU want? My other question would be if you are using Virtual Instruments or are you actually recording your material?

On another note, don't worry if they sound "mediocre" (whatever that means). As a musician, your goal should be expressing what it is you want. Art is not a business, therefore competition in art is an anomaly.

Last edited:

MiesVanDerRobot

macrumors member
Aug 28, 2012
The position you are in is precisely why musicians hire producers, recording engineers, and mastering engineers to help them turn songs into an album.