Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 30, 2013, 03:13 PM   #1
nickc99
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Does Time Machine backup applications?

I have a MacBook Pro running OS 10.9.1 that I bought in August of 2012. Today I've been experiencing a problem where an error message saying that Finder has quite unexpectedly repeatedly pops up upon startup. I called Apple about it; after restarting everything was fine, but they told me to back everything up in case it happens again because if it happens again I might have to wipe the computer clean and reinstall the operating system, which leads me to my actual question:

At the time I bought the computer, I was able to get a free version of Microsoft Office because my girlfriend at the time got a free download from her university, and although the link was only intended to work for one person, it ended up working for me, and so I was able to get a free version that way. So my question is if I purchase an external hard drive and use Time Machine, will I be able to restore all of my applications, including third party applications? Will it restore things like Steam, and Chrome and Spotify (although I don't care as much about those since they're free, it's just the hassle of having to reinstall everything. I don't want to lose Office if I have to wipe the hard drive, but I also don't want to pay for it, so is there any way I can preserve the version I have?

If you have experienced the problem with Finder and have any suggestions regarding that I'd be would greatly appreciate it. Thanks everybody!
nickc99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2013, 03:17 PM   #2
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
TM will backup all your apps but some of them with licenses also have Plist and preference files associated with them that hold info on the license.

In other words for example. I have Photoshop backed up but if i restore the app PS will ask me to activate it after I restored it.

You might have that problem with Office.
Peace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2013, 03:21 PM   #3
nickc99
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Is there any way around this?

Thanks for your reply. I know this is a stupid question but I just thought I'd ask, maybe somebody has a magical solution.
nickc99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2013, 03:26 PM   #4
GSPice
macrumors 68000
 
GSPice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Maybe try cloning the drive. I'm more familiar with Windows as far as potential licensing issues (some apps care about certain hardware, others don't).
__________________
15" Haswell rMBP 2.3/16/512/750m | 24" iMac 3.06/500/4/8800 | Mac OS X 10.9.2
AEBS MC340LL/A | APC RS 800VA/XS 1000 | iPhone 5 16GB 7.1 | iPad 16GB LTE 7.1 | Apple TV 2
GSPice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2013, 03:27 PM   #5
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickc99 View Post
Thanks for your reply. I know this is a stupid question but I just thought I'd ask, maybe somebody has a magical solution.
It will backup and restore everything, including app registration information. The problem is many apps, notably MS Office and Adobe apps, link the registration to the hardware UUID and any change to the hardware (like installing a new hard drive for example) will require reentry of the registration information even though everything was restored from a backup. I have never seen a way around this.
Weaselboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2013, 05:53 PM   #6
priitv8
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Estonia
I came across a problem where Outlook :mac wreaked havoc after being restored from TM backup. It gets its idenitity database messed up and keeps repeating about "Your Office database index is missing and needs to be rebuilt. This Is usually caused by restoring an idenitity with Time Machine". Hitting Rebuild fails with error. Oftentimes "Your database could not be rebuilt [-18000]". MS knowledge base and google are full of stories.

Last edited by priitv8; Dec 30, 2013 at 06:01 PM.
priitv8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions about iTunes iPhone backup and Time Machine backup applefan289 Mac Basics and Help 2 Mar 1, 2014 11:20 AM
Time Machine doesn't recognize backup history so incremental backup not working dmi OS X 0 Sep 10, 2013 06:56 AM
Time Machine: The identity of the backup disk has changed since the previous backup Dorv OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 9 Feb 22, 2013 11:45 PM
Time Machine backup replacing newer applications with older versions? JPitts85 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Sep 25, 2012 09:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC