Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Marketplace Archive 2

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 26, 2005, 02:04 PM   #1
Daedalus256
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Send a message via AIM to Daedalus256
WTB: Powerbook G3 Upgrades

Alright I've been waiting on a guy to contact me about getting some upgrades for a G3 Powerbook and he hasn't said a damn thing in like over a month. So! I'm turning to you guys in hopes of getting my G3 Pbook fixed up.

It's currently a G3 266mhz w/ 128MB of RAM and a 10GB HD. I'd like to upgrade the processor to something a little faster and maybe double the RAM.

Anyone willing to sell me any of this stuff for a decent price? You can just post here, contact me on AIM or email me. Thanks in advance.
Daedalus256 is offline   0
Old Dec 26, 2005, 02:35 PM   #2
wnameth
Banned
 
wnameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus256
Alright I've been waiting on a guy to contact me about getting some upgrades for a G3 Powerbook and he hasn't said a damn thing in like over a month. So! I'm turning to you guys in hopes of getting my G3 Pbook fixed up.

It's currently a G3 266mhz w/ 128MB of RAM and a 10GB HD. I'd like to upgrade the processor to something a little faster and maybe double the RAM.

Anyone willing to sell me any of this stuff for a decent price? You can just post here, contact me on AIM or email me. Thanks in advance.
INO this is a little off topic, but the powerbook in your sig is actually a REV C i believe, there was a 867mhz then a 1GHZ then a 1.33GHZ etc.
wnameth is offline   0
Old Dec 27, 2005, 10:27 AM   #3
umrdad
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
not sure what the wallstreet takes but i've got a 256mb high profile and a 64mb low profile both pc 100 144 pin i pulled from pismo when i replaced them with 2/512mb . . . .if it'll help make an offer or pm
umrdad is offline   0
Old Dec 27, 2005, 04:59 PM   #4
Daedalus256
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Send a message via AIM to Daedalus256
Quote:
Originally Posted by umrdad
not sure what the wallstreet takes but i've got a 256mb high profile and a 64mb low profile both pc 100 144 pin i pulled from pismo when i replaced them with 2/512mb . . . .if it'll help make an offer or pm
I think that would work in a Wallstreet (The 256MB stick). Although I've heard on LowEndMac that the highest a wallstreet can take is 192mb, although people have gotten them up to 512. How does this work anyway?
Daedalus256 is offline   0
Old Dec 27, 2005, 09:53 PM   #5
mjstew33
macrumors 601
 
mjstew33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Illinois
I have a floppy and a disk drive for the PowerBook G3 WallStreets. PM me if interested.
__________________
macbookpro 15" 2.4 GHz intel i7 quad | iPhone 5 64GB
Who except God can give you peace? Has the world ever been able to satisfy the heart? St. Gerard Majella
mjstew33 is offline   0
Old Dec 28, 2005, 10:54 AM   #6
umrdad
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
daedalus i don't know how or if it would work but i do know that the 512mb pc133 boards i installed were the same physical size as the lo-pro 64mb original bottom board made this old 400mhz g3 like a new machine it'll run right with my buddy's g4 emac and i can take it with me anywhere . . . . . according to some articles the wallstreet & pismo are pretty much the same under the hood . . .oops keyboard so i'm guessing you have 2 64mb boards in there the hi-pro 256mb should go in the top slot without problem whether the machine will recognize it your guess is as good or better than mine check your systemprofiler and see what is where

Last edited by umrdad; Dec 28, 2005 at 11:07 AM.
umrdad is offline   0
Old Dec 28, 2005, 12:07 PM   #7
mbl42
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilstewart92
I have a floppy and a disk drive for the PowerBook G3 WallStreets. PM me if interested.
I believe he did not ask for those.
mbl42 is offline   0
Old Dec 28, 2005, 12:47 PM   #8
Daedalus256
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Send a message via AIM to Daedalus256
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxlews
I believe he did not ask for those.
Doesn't really mean you have to be some sort of ass about it. The disk drive actually sounded interesting.
Daedalus256 is offline   0
Old Dec 28, 2005, 01:04 PM   #9
mbl42
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
I wasn't trying to be an ass, I was simply stating something. Sorry Daedalus.
mbl42 is offline   0
Old Dec 28, 2005, 02:01 PM   #10
mjstew33
macrumors 601
 
mjstew33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxlews
I wasn't trying to be an ass, I was simply stating something. Sorry Daedalus.
wtf? He said WTB: PowerBook G3 upgrades. I had some and if he was interested, he could PM me. If you don't have anything that will bring good to the sale, then don't post. What are you trying to do? Up your post count? He didn't say those parts only.

__________________
macbookpro 15" 2.4 GHz intel i7 quad | iPhone 5 64GB
Who except God can give you peace? Has the world ever been able to satisfy the heart? St. Gerard Majella
mjstew33 is offline   0
Old Dec 28, 2005, 02:07 PM   #11
umrdad
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
hey don't knock floppies, i bought one of the VST fdd's for this thing (pismo) OS X 10.4 will still recognize the drive, only reason for buying it was that it was cheaper than replacing sony mavica camera and for transfering some system 9 files and apps from my old frankenmac clone . . . . . . iirc those listed new for either $299 or $399 now you get 'em for less than $30 delivered they also will work w/superdisk floppies . . . . i guess it all depends on one's individual situation whether to call it an upgrade
umrdad is offline   0
Old Dec 30, 2005, 01:01 AM   #12
Daedalus256
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Send a message via AIM to Daedalus256
Well I'm still looking for some parts. If anyone has something let me know. I've gotten a couple of PMs about RAM but I'd really like a processor upgrade if anyone has one.
Daedalus256 is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Marketplace Archive 2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The PowerBook Project: upgrades J.Appleseed PowerPC Macs 15 Sep 13, 2013 03:59 PM
Any more upgrades for my G5? Sunfighter PowerPC Macs 20 Oct 18, 2012 09:24 AM
Upgrades Chromie iPhone 6 Sep 6, 2012 09:19 PM
What upgrades can i do? Damien.C MacBook 2 Jul 9, 2012 06:28 AM
Upgrades...... Afbar1114 MacBook Pro 8 Jul 4, 2012 09:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC