Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 26, 2005, 04:51 PM   #1
Stinkythe1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Send a message via AIM to Stinkythe1
Phone dialer for mac

Is there such a program that I can use where I plug in a phoneline into my powerbook and I can use the program to dial the number, and I can have a conversation with someone using the built in mic and speakers?

The ones that I've seen require some kind of special phone adaptor or voip.

Surely there is a simple program out there that does this. Is there?
__________________
17" MacBook Pro 2.5 GHz 4 GB RAM hi-res screen
Stinkythe1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2005, 05:20 PM   #2
mjstew33
macrumors 601
 
mjstew33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stinkythe1
Is there such a program that I can use where I plug in a phoneline into my powerbook and I can use the program to dial the number, and I can have a conversation with someone using the built in mic and speakers?

The ones that I've seen require some kind of special phone adaptor or voip.

Surely there is a simple program out there that does this. Is there?
Haven't heard of one as "plug 'n play" like that. I'll let you know if i find one...
__________________
macbookpro 15" 2.4 GHz intel i7 quad | iPhone 5 64GB
Who except God can give you peace? Has the world ever been able to satisfy the heart? St. Gerard Majella
mjstew33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2005, 05:29 PM   #3
Linam
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
This may help http://equinux.com/us/products/macdial/index.html
Linam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2005, 06:31 PM   #4
Stinkythe1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Send a message via AIM to Stinkythe1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linam
No not that. That requires a special phone. I just want my powerbook, a phoneline hooked up to the modem, and some software.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro 2.5 GHz 4 GB RAM hi-res screen
Stinkythe1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2005, 11:02 PM   #5
VanNess
macrumors 6502a
 
VanNess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California
Here ya go...

MacDialer

jon's phone tool

AB Dialer

All are shareware programs and all have the ability to use the Mac's internal modem to dial the number
__________________
27" iMac, i7, 8gig ram
VanNess is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2005, 11:05 PM   #6
OutThere
macrumors 603
 
OutThere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NYC
In my experience Jon's Phone Tool has a nice interface and works quite well...worthwhile from what I've seen.
__________________
puisqu'on est jeune et con, puisqu'ils sont vieux et fous. . .
OutThere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2005, 11:14 PM   #7
Stinkythe1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Send a message via AIM to Stinkythe1
No no no.....

Look, all those just dial the number. You still have to pick up your regular phone to talk to people. I want to use the built in mic and speakers in my powerbook to talk to people.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro 2.5 GHz 4 GB RAM hi-res screen
Stinkythe1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2005, 11:45 PM   #8
mduser63
macrumors 68040
 
mduser63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Send a message via AIM to mduser63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stinkythe1
No no no.....

Look, all those just dial the number. You still have to pick up your regular phone to talk to people. I want to use the built in mic and speakers in my powerbook to talk to people.
I know you said you're not looking for a VOIP solution, but I use Skype with SkypeOut to call regular phones and it works great. $0.017 to call most places including anywhere in the US. A little more for some places, like 2.1 cents/minute to call Japan. I just use the built in mic in my PowerBook with headphones in the headphone jack to avoid feedback, and it sounds fine.
mduser63 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2005, 12:03 AM   #9
ChrisFromCanada
macrumors 65816
 
ChrisFromCanada's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stinkythe1
No no no.....

Look, all those just dial the number. You still have to pick up your regular phone to talk to people. I want to use the built in mic and speakers in my powerbook to talk to people.
I believe built in modems cannot produce the correct frequencies for this. i looked for the exact same thing a few months ago but just gave up and bought a traditional phone.
__________________
Powermac G5 - Dual 2.5 GHz
SR Macbook Pro - 2.2GHz
Xbox 360
30GB iPod Video
Sony DCR-PC105
ChrisFromCanada is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2005, 12:04 AM   #10
Stinkythe1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Send a message via AIM to Stinkythe1
I was hoping to find something like this for my regular landline so I wouldn't have to lean over and pick up the phone whenever it would ring.

Sigh...
__________________
17" MacBook Pro 2.5 GHz 4 GB RAM hi-res screen
Stinkythe1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2006, 04:03 PM   #11
gayboystpaul
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Try this

It looks like this is exactly what you are looking for.
http://www.megaphoneco.com/index.htm
gayboystpaul is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2006, 08:34 PM   #12
Stinkythe1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Send a message via AIM to Stinkythe1
Quote:
Originally Posted by gayboystpaul
It looks like this is exactly what you are looking for.
http://www.megaphoneco.com/index.htm
That IS what I'm looking for. However,

1) It only runs on classic and I don't feel like fooling with classic.
2) It says that it only supports modems with voice.

Quote:
(Note: Newer Apple internal modems no longer support voice...
So.... nevermind. Tough luck for me. I could buy an external modem but I don't want this feature THAT bad.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro 2.5 GHz 4 GB RAM hi-res screen
Stinkythe1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2006, 11:32 PM   #13
VanNess
macrumors 6502a
 
VanNess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California
Probably the closest you're going to get to this is Skype.

It's VOIP. You can use Skype's free program to place outbound calls and be able to use your computer's mic and speakers for the call, but they charge you for calls that terminate on regular phone company lines. But it does work, quite well actually, I've used Skype for a few long distance calls with no problems, and the sound quality was actually better than if I had placed the call normally using my regular phone carrier. They also have Skype in, which, for another fee, allows you to set up a phone number for handling incoming calls, but I never used the service. So, all in all, you can set it up so Skype behaves as if you were placing/receiving a regular phone call on your computer, and be able to use your computer's mic and speakers for the call, but it will cost you on a per call basis.

Anyway, plenty of info on Skype's website if your interested.
__________________
27" iMac, i7, 8gig ram
VanNess is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
background picture not resizing/phone dialer starstreak iOS 7 5 Sep 18, 2013 06:57 PM
iPhone: T9 dialer jjforums iOS 6 9 Jul 24, 2013 03:48 PM
iPhone: Help with dialer mod please llDeviousll Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Mar 4, 2013 08:43 PM
Predict Phone Numbers While Typing on Phone Dialer? opeepingtomo iOS 6 6 Oct 17, 2012 02:20 AM
New Phone Dialer Thoughts? dweezle3 iOS 6 88 Oct 2, 2012 09:42 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC