Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lancerland

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2014
Current setup: early 2008 iMac, 4gb ram, 250mb HD

I was originally looking at getting a brand new 27in iMac from the apple store for around $3,000, but then my buddy decided to sell is 2011 i5 for $650. I am a graphic designer and my creative suite crawls when I am working in it. In photoshop in particular I have to wait 30 seconds for a 50mb file to open.

So my questions are do you think I will see a significant increase in speed while working in creative suite with the i5. I plan on upgrading the ram to 16gb as soon as I get it.

I know it will be faster, but I guess my concern is, that I have never purchased a used computer before, and I don't want to be disappointed. So if anyone out there has had a similar scenario could you let me know how it went.

Thanks

Twimfy

macrumors 6502a
Sep 11, 2011
UK

I was originally looking at getting a brand new 27in iMac from the apple store for around $3,000, but then my buddy decided to sell is 2011 i5 for $650. I am a graphic designer and my creative suite crawls when I am working in it. In photoshop in particular I have to wait 30 seconds for a 50mb file to open.

So my questions are do you think I will see a significant increase in speed while working in creative suite with the i5. I plan on upgrading the ram to 16gb as soon as I get it.

I know it will be faster, but I guess my concern is, that I have never purchased a used computer before, and I don't want to be disappointed. So if anyone out there has had a similar scenario could you let me know how it went.

Thanks

Buy it. Stick an SSD in it if you can. You'll be happy for many years to come. Even if you don't do the SSD option you will see a HUGE increase in performance. C2D to an i5 is a significant upgrade. I don't know much about the US prices but that looks like a good deal to me.

lancerland