Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

chfilm

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Nov 15, 2012
Berlin
Hey,
I installed beta 1 back in November and everything worked fine. I didn't install b2 or 3, last night everything was fine, this morning I want to read macrumors on the iPad and all it shows is an activation error because I'm not a developer...

I know one always installs betas on own risk etc. but why would it just stop working all of a sudden? What can I do now other than just resetting it to 7.0.4 and loose all my backups?

Tyler23

macrumors 603
Dec 2, 2010
Atlanta, GA
Hey,
I installed beta 1 back in November and everything worked fine. I didn't install b2 or 3, last night everything was fine, this morning I want to read macrumors on the iPad and all it shows is an activation error because I'm not a developer...

I know one always installs betas on own risk etc. but why would it just stop working all of a sudden? What can I do now other than just resetting it to 7.0.4 and loose all my backups?

Betas expire. You must do a DFU restore.

chfilm

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Nov 15, 2012
Berlin
Ok....weren't there ways to modify the backup file in order to be able to install it on 7.04? But In fact I believe I have only iCloud backups..

Tyler23

macrumors 603
Dec 2, 2010
Atlanta, GA
Ok....weren't there ways to modify the backup file in order to be able to install it on 7.04? But In fact I believe I have only iCloud backups..

If that's the case you'll have to start from scratch. You can restore your 7.1 backup when 7.1 is released to the public in the next few months.

C DM

macrumors Sandy Bridge
Oct 17, 2011
I was wondering how many threads like this one we'll be seeing today.

chfilm

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Nov 15, 2012
Berlin