Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

coloradodv

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2014
Hi, I am new to macrumors.

anyone able to help me out would be solid. I am stuck trying to get my mac pro 5,1 to boot up.

Specs are

OSX drivers (I tried nvidia and it just doesnt work)
Latest cuda and nvidia drivers.
2 GTX 680(can the firmware be updated?)
I have 36gb ram. 4 8gb and 4 1gb.. -(is this a problem?)

Anyways - I am missing something, I have to reboot about 5-6 times before it goes past the grey screen with the apple logo.

I need this for Davinci Resolve and Adobe CC -

Thanks for any help or ideas!

Geo

MacUser2525

Suspended
Mar 17, 2007
Canada
Command and V keys held down while booting to get a text boot so you can see where it fails. But as the other poster alludes too probably power problems still be nice to know if there are errors.

coloradodv

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2014
Powered by BoosterX5

I did get an 450 w internal power supply that is recommended for this situation.

I will try Command V and look to see if it errors.

Thanks!

George

coloradodv

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2014
I attached some text boot screens.

I think I must have messed this thing up when I was trying to get my usb3 cards to work. - That is the only time I added these Kext files.

So I see that it must be corrupt, but I am a little novice on what action I should take. Maybe I should just wipe and re-install? I have a ton of programs and plugins, Digital Juice etc… so it would be quite the investment to install again. -

Or would I just be able to transfer, and get rid of the kexts, and the corruption? I have a new drive I can put a fresh install on. -

Or just remove the bad files? - I am not sure.

Thanks for any feedback.