Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

zyr123

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 31, 2009
What's the best Filming settings to use while scuba diving. And do you need a specific housing or is the one it came with fine.

puckhead193

macrumors G3
May 25, 2004
NY
I'm new to gopro but I can tell you to use a lower frame rate. This will allow more light to hit the sensor. if possible use an external light.
The housing it comes with should be adequate. How deep do you plan to dive? Also look into getting filters. This will cut the blue/green tint out and make the colors more natural. Depending on how far you plan to dive you'll need certain colors. I believe the most common are red and magenta.
Also look into some type of extension pole and or hand grip. Some use for lack of better terms a tray with two handles to grip with both hands.

Hope this helps.

zyr123

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 31, 2009
Yes it does thank you. I'll use 24 1080 p. and connect it to my go pole which I was planning on using anyhow. I Highly recommend that pole it's definitely worth 50$.

we're doing it in Eilat it's all of our first time so probably not that deep.

acearchie

macrumors 68040
Jan 15, 2006
Which model GoPro do you have?

Anything earlier than the Hero 3 and you will want a flat casing to ensure sharp pictures underwater.

zyr123

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 31, 2009
Hero 2. And I doubt they have a flat case I can purchase in israel... This is annoying.

BrotherCrack

macrumors member
Jun 5, 2008
PADI certified diver here. For the record I can tell you that I have a white edition Go pro and I have had no problem with the chasis it brings for underwater. Have taken it as far as 30 meters (about 100 feet) underwater without any problem!

acearchie

macrumors 68040
Jan 15, 2006