Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

samo1215

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 26, 2008
I did a search and didn't find anything too recent so what are everyone's opinions?

I'm not a professional so paying for Illustrator seems dumb. iDraw's price is quite attractive but I was wondering why it was so much cheaper than Sketch considering the feature set doesn't seem that much different.

As an FYI, I just need a simple vector program for making logos and other basic web design work.

fig

macrumors 6502a
Jun 13, 2012
Austin, TX
Haven't used iDraw, but I have a hard time analyzing the price of any app that falls under 100 bucks.

You might check out Inkscape, which is free.

samo1215

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 26, 2008
Thanks for the prompt reply. I should mention, I intentionally excluded Inkscape as I have used it in the past and didn't really care for it.

CrickettGrrrl

macrumors 6502a
Feb 10, 2012
B'more or Less
I use iDraw (have it for Mac & iPad) but do not have Sketch, so I can't compare them. But I can tell you that iDraw has a great UI and one of the best user manuals I've seen. iDraw's simplicity is deceptive, the program has a great deal of depth. The devs are very responsive and always working on improvements. If you need help, they reply to Facebook questions quickly. To me, iDraw is worth a lot more than $24.99.

samo1215

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 26, 2008
CrickettGrrrl, thanks for the response, I really appreciate the input.

I was wondering, have you used Illustrator before and if so, can you tell me how iDraw stacks up to that? Obviously, I expect iDraw to be missing a few bells and whistles but any insight you can give me on the difference between the two programs would be helpful.

firedept

macrumors 603
Jul 8, 2011
Somewhere!