Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

marty1990

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 25, 2011
England
A friend a asked me to do some voluntary design work for his company. I graduated with a degree in graphic design but am not really using it, so trying to get back into it.

I'm a little hazy on printing and bleeds though.

Usually when I'm doing a poster/flyer etc, I do it in a3/a5, add a bleed, usually 3mm, send the printers and it comes back nice.

Am doing an a4 leaflet for the company, but they're strapped for cash so can't afford to go to a commercial printers, so doing everything with a laserjet. The original flyers they were using were made with Publisher, and when they print, it has a white border around, which is understandable, it's a laserjet. I designed a new a4 flyer in Illustrator, sent across 2 versions, one with a bleed, one without, PDF format. When he prints either it comes out with a larger white border than their original ones. When he imports my design into publisher, it prints weird, all pixelated etc. The way we got round it was to elongate the art board of the flyer design, so it's longer than a4, and only then it prints closer to the original flyer.

Don't understand what's going on? I take it I don't need bleeds for a laserjet? And how come the publisher document is printing better than the one I did in Illustrator? I mean, I even tweaked it in InDesign and Publisher was still printing better.

citizenzen

macrumors 68000
Mar 22, 2010
Color printers don't print edge to edge. The ones I've worked with typically have a .25" border. The only way to make a bleed work for you is to print on a larger sheet and then trim down.

MisterMe

macrumors G4
Jul 17, 2002
USA
A friend a asked me to do some voluntary design work for his company. I graduated with a degree in graphic design but am not really using it, so trying to get back into it.