Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

guido.coza

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 12, 2011
South Africa
Hi all
I have a mid 2012 MBA running on 10.9
I yesterday deleted all data on my 2TB Timecapsule with the airport utility, as I wanted to start afresh and did not need any files on the TC (have a second backup)
I started TM and after some calculating time the info --MB of 580GB backed up. So far so good, besides it should be 480GB external+49GB MBA=530GB, but I do not care about that.
I did let TM run over night on the powercord with energy setting "never sleep while on power".
When I checked this morning the backup was stuck on 38GB!
I deleted what was on the TC and started afresh. After about 6h 176GB where backed up but now it is stuck again:mad:
Any suggestions what the problem could be??
the MBA is about 50cm away from the TC as it seems that makes a difference in transfer speed.

Weaselboy

Staff member
Jan 23, 2005
California
Open Console app from /Applications/Utilities and type "backup" in the search box at the top. Scroll through and look for any error messages from Time Machine that might tip you off to what is going on.

Also, try a command-r boot to recovery and use Disk Utility from there to run repair disk. Does that show any errors?

Time Machine uses the Spotlight index and if that is corrupt it can cause troubles. Run the command below in Terminal to reindex Spotlight and see if that helps.

Code:
sudo mdutil -E /

guido.coza

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 12, 2011
South Africa
Hi Weasel
there are hundrets of threads in the consol system log
2 stuck out too me