Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 7, 2006, 01:51 AM   #1
FadeToBlack
macrumors 68000
 
FadeToBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Accoville, WV
My eMac Vs. Dual 867MHz MDD

I'm considering purchasing a Power Mac and selling my eMac. I want an external display and the upgradeability of the Power Mac. Anyway, my question is how much faster would a Dual 867 be compared to my eMac (specs in sig) The Power Mac has 512MB RAM, but I will most likely be maxing out the RAM in it if I got it. Thanks in advance.
FadeToBlack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2006, 03:28 AM   #2
leftbanke7
macrumors 6502a
 
leftbanke7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Valley City, Utah
This article doesn't have your exact comparison but it may be a good place to start.

http://www.lowendmac.com/macdan/03/0324dk.html
__________________
"I'm apathetic and I don't care."
leftbanke7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2006, 03:44 AM   #3
Lord Blackadder
macrumors G4
 
Lord Blackadder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sod off
The Powermac should equal or beat the eMac in everything, especially if you have a GeForce3/4ti or Radeon 9000 or newer
__________________
Oh, God, God, God! What on earth was I drinking last night? My head feels like there's a Frenchman living in it. - Edmund Blackadder
Lord Blackadder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2006, 04:10 AM   #4
FadeToBlack
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
FadeToBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Accoville, WV
Thanks, guys. That's what I thought. I plan to upgrade this to 2GB of RAM and putting a new 16X DL SuperDrive in it. I will also most likely throw in another HD.

Hopefully I will win this on eBay. I've always loved the design of the MDD. I'm also watching an auction on a 17" Studio Display!

EDIT: BTW, this particular MDD has the GeForce 4MX. I can always upgrade it if I need to, though.
FadeToBlack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2006, 01:20 PM   #5
Sam0r
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Birmingham, UK
This is really my first desktop mac (Aside from the 300mhz iMac i used for a few months last year to get the freel of OS X).

Its exactly the same spec as the one you plan on buying.

Specs when I bought it:

Dual 867Mhz G4 7455 Processors
1gb DDR Ram
Geforce 4 MX Graphics 32mb VRAM
80gb Diamondmax Plus 9 HDD
Combo Drive
17" ADC Apple Display

Now:

Dual 867Mhz G4 7455 Processors
1.5gb DDR Ram
ATi Radeon 9800Pro (Flahed)
80gb Diamondmax Plus 9 HDD
2x 40gb Maxtor Fireball slimline HDD's in RAID0
8x DVD DL Drive
Combo Drive
17" ADC Apple display with the converter box

The original kit cost me 480 including shipping, which I think was a very good price.

I've spent about another 250 upgrading it, although I had the extra ram, DVD DL drive and hard drives lying around from my old PC.

It does everything I want it to do, and it does it faster than my 1.33ghz iBook does

Oh yeah, I'm overclocking it next week.
__________________
2011 iMac 27", i5 2.7ghz, 8gb, Radeon 6770m
2011 MacBook Pro 13", i5 2.3ghz, 8gb, Intel HD 3000
iPhone 5 White 32gb
Sam0r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2006, 08:13 PM   #6
CubeHacker
macrumors 65816
 
CubeHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
If you plan to upgrade the video card, don't get an old style ADC Apple display, as most new video cards do NOT come with ADC ports. In order to get an ADC display working with a DVI card you need an expensive $100 converter. In other words, its not worth it.
CubeHacker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2006, 08:16 PM   #7
doucy2
macrumors 65816
 
doucy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Send a message via AIM to doucy2
well that dual will blow the emac out of the water
emac video really sucks

you could put an ati 9800 mac pro 128mb ed in the dual and have one pimp machine, not to mention all that extra room for pci cards and more hd's
__________________
13" MBP 2.8ghz i7, Apple TV 1, iPhone 4S, 2x APE; WTB Intel Mini
doucy2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2006, 08:17 PM   #8
liquidh2o
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: South Carolina
expandabilty alone should allow you to keep the dual 867 tower around for awhile.

The ram upgrade should also make a noticable improvement in OSX
liquidh2o is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2006, 10:40 PM   #9
FadeToBlack
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
FadeToBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Accoville, WV
Just won it on eBay! Had a bit of a bidding war there at the end, but ended up picking it up for $705 shipped. I'm excited!

I'm considering getting one of the old 17" Studio Displays, but as you guys said, I wouldn't be able to use it with a recent graphics card because of the ADC. Maybe I could just upgrade it to a GeForce 4Ti eventually?
FadeToBlack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2006, 12:26 PM   #10
Lord Blackadder
macrumors G4
 
Lord Blackadder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sod off
I would avoid the GeForce4ti unless you can get one very cheap - it isn't Core Image compatible and a Radeon 9800 is much faster in pretty much every way. The best two cards for the G4 user today are the Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (available only from OWC and around $100) and the Radeon 9800 series cards (prices vary between ~$120 for do-it-yourself flashed cards all the way up to $250 for a brand new 256MB model).
__________________
Oh, God, God, God! What on earth was I drinking last night? My head feels like there's a Frenchman living in it. - Edmund Blackadder
Lord Blackadder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2006, 12:42 PM   #11
Passante
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: on the sofa
Check the fan noise first. My 1.25 DP MDD is a wind tunnel and annoys the heck out of me. Hope your tower is quieter than mine.
__________________
Never switched
Passante is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2006, 07:58 PM   #12
FadeToBlack
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
FadeToBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Accoville, WV
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Blackadder
I would avoid the GeForce4ti unless you can get one very cheap - it isn't Core Image compatible and a Radeon 9800 is much faster in pretty much every way. The best two cards for the G4 user today are the Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (available only from OWC and around $100) and the Radeon 9800 series cards (prices vary between ~$120 for do-it-yourself flashed cards all the way up to $250 for a brand new 256MB model).
Does the 9600 Pro have an ADC? I ordered a 17" Studio Display today, too. I just couldn't stand the thought of using a non-Apple display with the Power Mac.

EDIT: I forgot to mention that I also ordered a DL 16x SuperDrive from OWC.

Last edited by FadeToBlack; Jan 9, 2006 at 09:03 PM.
FadeToBlack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2006, 02:52 AM   #13
FadeToBlack
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
FadeToBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Accoville, WV
I have a question. Not too long ago, I added a 512MB stick of RAM to my eMac. Will this work in the Power Mac? It's PC2700 and I'm pretty sure the Power Mac has 512MB of PC2100 installed.
FadeToBlack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2006, 05:51 AM   #14
eXan
macrumors 601
 
eXan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Send a message via ICQ to eXan Send a message via AIM to eXan Send a message via Skype™ to eXan
Quote:
Originally Posted by FadeToBlack
how much faster would a Dual 867 be compared to my eMac (specs in sig)
PM should beat your eMac in any MP-aware app. (not games, sadly). Be weary though, I heard MDDs are very noisy
__________________
My WoW videos
13" Retina MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz | 8 GB | 256 GB | Intel Iris
eXan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2006, 05:54 AM   #15
FadeToBlack
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
FadeToBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Accoville, WV
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXan
PM should beat your eMac in any MP-aware app. (not games, sadly). Be weary though, I heard MDDs are very noisy
Yeah, I've heard the term "Wind Tunnel" used to describe them. I doubt the sound of it will bother me, though.
FadeToBlack is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2x 1GB RAM in an MDD 867mhz Antonius PowerPC Macs 2 May 28, 2013 06:21 PM
Questions about Power Mac G4 MDD Dual 867 powerpcguy PowerPC Macs 15 Oct 24, 2012 03:09 PM
PowerMac G4 MDD 867Mhz DP- $25 - good deal? davidg4781 PowerPC Macs 3 Oct 6, 2012 04:34 AM
dual 1.25 MDD daughter card jbarley Wasteland 3 Aug 17, 2012 04:00 PM
Dual Processors from a G4 MDD in a G4 Quicksilver? MacPig PowerPC Macs 11 Jun 19, 2012 05:14 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC