Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

matrix07

macrumors G3
Original poster
Jun 24, 2010
Hi,

I'm thinking about creating a 5.1 system hooked up to Mac mini but I will do it step by step.

1st step: Stereo.
2nd step: 2.1
3rd step: 5.1 with wireless surrounds.

I want active speakers, something like Genelec 8030 for L/C/R. Now I'm a very newbie in this area so I have no idea AT ALL how to connect these, or all of these, to my Mac. Someone told me I need a 5.1 pre-amp.
I'm open to all suggestions (about how to connect, what sub, what surround. Even what app. Should I need Amara etc.).
So please helps.

(I hope I post on the right forum. If not, mod please move)

Macman45

macrumors G5
Jul 29, 2011
Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
I have a pair of Genelec powered studio monitors...Mot cheap, but I can highly recommend them...For their size the power and sound reproduction is second to none.

They are pricey, but well worth the investment.

Attachments

• Genelec.jpg
    Genelec.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 847

matrix07

macrumors G3
Original poster
Jun 24, 2010
I have a pair of Genelec powered studio monitors...Mot cheap, but I can highly recommend them...For their size the power and sound reproduction is second to none.

They are pricey, but well worth the investment.

Thank you. That's great to hear. But what is their shortcoming, if they have one?

Also, how do you connect it? Balanced or unbalanced?

Raventhornn

macrumors newbie
Feb 19, 2014
Thank you. That's great to hear. But what is their shortcoming, if they have one?

Also, how do you connect it? Balanced or unbalanced?

Here is a review from Gearslutz on the 8030's http://www.gearspace.com/board/reviews/684419-genelec-8030-a.html

Also more than a few threads out there, suggest when dealing with the genelec's - if you're going with a sub, you should pick that & then pick the 'sides' based on the sub [just throwing that out there].