Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

which would you do?

• Take the $150 as a hard loss and buy another from good friend knowing im in good hands

Votes: 8 47.1%
  • Just use the one I have now, even though its inferior and no warranty and from a scammer

Votes: 9 52.9%

• Total voters

Misskitty

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 18, 2010
I have to say being scammed, ripped off is the most worst feeling ever inside you. Knowing someone took advantage of you and is laughing right this second is not something that sits well with me.

Heres what happened. My latch on my necklace that Ive been wearing for the past 4 years broke and was looking for a new one. I ended up buying a necklace that had tags and papers showing authenticy (Tiffancy and Co.) and well turns out theyre fake. I even felt the papers and I have real ones from other authentic Versace and Prada items I own, and it felt the same.

So I paid $150 for something that is worth $50 (according to the jewellry store appraiser). He says even though mine is a fake, its a much better quality and still worth something. $50. He says that the quality of mine plus the papers and tags, pretty much no one would be able to tell theyre fake.

I was dumb and should have held off when I met up with this seller. But I walked in, they showed me it, I loved it and got suckered in. Then when I bought it, I had second thoughts and took it over to a jewellry store to get it checked out.

Now Im pissed. The person i bought it from was someone off Craigslist who has a small shop that she sells this stufff out of. When I showed up to the shop, I was a bit skeptical and caught off guard. No signage, no nothing. But I was stupid and gave the seller the benefit of the doubt that theyre still a legit person and perhaps the shop wasnt an issue. Not everyone can afford nice shops. Maybe shes just moved here and doing this to get by in life.