Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

D3vYus

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 17, 2014
Australia
Hey guys, new to this forum, but as to my problem;
I'm a 17 year old who is leaning towards a university degree for Graphic Design. I'm looking to buy one but I'm not too certain which one would be better for what I'm going to do-

I don't have moneybags in my pocket as I'm still a student, but I need something that can handle fairly well with Photoshop and Cinema 4D with no problem. I've seen the 13" MBP but thinking it may be pretty small screen, so I had a look at the 15" (for a lot more money) it is only 2.0GHz and not sure if that'll cut it. The iMac would be good, but it does have the con of being a desktop and I won't be able to carry it around if need be..
Also I've never owned a Mac, but I am also a gamer and I'd like it to be able to handle some moderate games :D

Thanks for suggestions

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
I'm not a gamer, but if you need a computer that is mobile, then I'd cross off the iMac from the list. The 15" model will give you more power, also check out the refurb section of the apple store, you may get a good deal.

D3vYus

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 17, 2014
Australia
As a student, you will be entitled to the Apple student discount. I would go for a high end iMac...It will see you through your studies well, and a 13" rMBp as nice as they are ( I'm typing this on mine now) isn't really the all around wortool you need In my opnion.

Apple student discount:

http://store.apple.com/uk?afid=p219|GOUK&cid=AOS-EMEIAUK-KWD-BTS13-

True, but I'm not sure that is available in Aus

I'm not a gamer, but if you need a computer that is mobile, then I'd cross off the iMac from the list. The 15" model will give you more power, also check out the refurb section of the apple store, you may get a good deal.