Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hcemin

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 16, 2014
Hi guys!

I'm visiting Canada so I decided to get a MBP here, since the prices are much, much lower than in my home country.

I was 100% sure I'd get the 2.4 GHz / 16 GB RAM / 256 GB SSD.
The problem is the Apple Store only sells the basic configurations, and only Canadians can purchase online (which I didn't know :()

I'm so frustrated right now, but I still have two options:

2.4 GHz / 8 GB RAM / 256 GB SSD - $1549

OR

2.6 GHz / 8 GB RAM / 512 GB SSD - $1849

My question is: is the $300 difference worth it? Will the better SSD and processor make up for the RAM I couldn't get? I mean, I was going to get 16 GB to "future-proof" the Mac.

I'm a student, so I'd use it for basic stuff such as web browsing, watching movies and doing college work (mainly Office stuff).

Thank you very much and sorry for my english :eek:

Last edited:

BenTrovato

macrumors 68040
Jun 29, 2012
Canada
I'd get the 2.4 and save the $300 unless you needed more storage space right now. Otherwise, if in the future you require more space you can always upgrade it yourself.

dalupus

macrumors regular
Jul 19, 2011
Hi guys!

I'm visiting Canada so I decided to get a MBP here, since the prices are much, much lower than in my home country.

I was 100% sure I'd get the 2.4 GHz / 16 GB RAM / 256 GB SSD.
The problem is the Apple Store only sells the basic configurations, and only Canadians can purchase online (which I didn't know :()

I'm so frustrated right now, but I still have two options:

2.4 GHz / 8 GB RAM / 256 GB SSD - $1549

OR

2.6 GHz / 8 GB RAM / 512 GB SSD - $1849

My question is: is the $300 difference worth it? Will the better SSD and processor make up for the RAM I couldn't get? I mean, I was going to get 16 GB to "future-proof" the Mac.