Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

martin.mts

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 24, 2014
Hi, I've been thinking of buying my first Macbookpro for a few months, and have been visiting this forum everyday as well.

Since many people had good words about the refurbished. I just ordered one today, which is $180 cheaper than the educational price (I'm a student).

But then I realized, if they have a 100MB-200MB CPS bump in the Summer or early Fall, I can get the updated model with the educational price.

Therefore, the choice is between:
A refurbished Oct. 2013 model + now.
An updated 2014 model with 100MB/200MB CUP bump + $180 + a few month (2-5 month?).

My windows laptop still works fine. I think I have no problem use it for a few more months.

And, In terms of canceling, I tried to cancel the order, but couldn't. It says that I can only cancel the order if I use a credit card or Apple gift card. I used a credit card and a debit card to pay the money. Is it the problem? or because it is refurbished? Can I call cancel it buy calling them? Or can I return it without any extra cost?

Thanks!

Suspended
Jul 11, 2006
Somewhere
I would recommend just keeping it, I doubt it will see a huge upgrade and this way you get to enjoy your computer sooner.

Dubberton

macrumors regular
Oct 9, 2013
wait. newer tech, plus a new instead of refurbished. waaaiiit. call and figure out how to cancel or something.

martin.mts

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 24, 2014
wait. newer tech, plus a new instead of refurbished. waaaiiit. call and figure out how to cancel or something.

Thanks! And thanks for all of you who replied.
Just called and canceled the order.
I think I can wait. There would probably be more information at the WWDC. And it is only less than 40 days away from now.
And, my current laptop is still sturdy, although it is four years old now. :)