Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 12, 2006, 08:39 PM   #1
iriejedi
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Nor Cal
Send a message via AIM to iriejedi Send a message via Yahoo to iriejedi
iWork Install Errors

Iworks will not install

get to 98% done and then say there were errors.

It is on my HD but running it is very unstable.

Anyone have any suggestions or ideas?

IJ
__________________
Retired G5 2 X 2.5 - She lost her mind (could not find her DIMM slots anymore)
'Mature' MacPro (early 2008) - dead 8800GT + Radeon 5870 = still pretty solid machine
iriejedi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2006, 08:41 PM   #2
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Does it say what the errors were? Do they have numbers?

It had to be asked: is it a legitimate copy?
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2006, 12:46 AM   #3
IJ Reilly
macrumors P6
 
IJ Reilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Palookaville
I have seen the same thing on one of my Macs. It gets to 98% and reports an install error (nothing specific, just an error). I haven't noticed any stability issues running the applications, however. The others install fine.

Edit: My only thought for a solution is to drag-copy the installer onto the hard drive or to create disk image from the DVD and run the installer from there.
__________________
*The season starts too early and finishes too late and there are too many games in between.
Bill Veeck

Last edited by IJ Reilly; Jan 13, 2006 at 12:51 AM.
IJ Reilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2006, 02:51 AM   #4
solvs
macrumors 601
 
solvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: LaLaLand, CA
I had something like this happen to me. Some kind of conflict between the iWork demo and the version I was trying to install. Had to completely uninstall everything iWork related, including pref files and packages. Then reinstalled from scratch, and it worked fine. Google the error messege, I think some others have had this problem too.
__________________
True love never dies
The only thing more dangerous than a woman scorned, is a man with nothing left to lose...
solvs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2006, 10:03 AM   #5
IJ Reilly
macrumors P6
 
IJ Reilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Palookaville
I think this is a different problem, but I will soon find out. I compared the iWorks installs on the Mac where the error was reported to the ones where it was not, and the packages sizes were smaller on the former -- so even though the applications are running on that Mac, something is missing. I tried to make a dmg file of the install DVD on the Mac where it did not install properly, but Disk Utility reported a failure at just about the same point (nearly done), so I made one on another Mac. I'm now copying it over. Personally, I think it might well be a bad DVD pressing.
__________________
*The season starts too early and finishes too late and there are too many games in between.
Bill Veeck
IJ Reilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2006, 10:13 AM   #6
iriejedi
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Nor Cal
Send a message via AIM to iriejedi Send a message via Yahoo to iriejedi
Errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by IJ Reilly
I think this is a different problem, but I will soon find out. I compared the iWorks installs on the Mac where the error was reported to the ones where it was not, and the packages sizes were smaller on the former -- so even though the applications are running on that Mac, something is missing. I tried to make a dmg file of the install DVD on the Mac where it did not install properly, but Disk Utility reported a failure at just about the same point (nearly done), so I made one on another Mac. I'm now copying it over. Personally, I think it might well be a bad DVD pressing.

I tried both Toast and Disk utility and had the same problem - some I/O error near the end.

Tried both copying disk and making an image.

The Apple Store said they would swap it and once I described the "98%" they seemd to have little concern about the fact that it was an opened product.

So while I was able to play a little on the apps (they stopped crashing after a reboot and a second 'reopen' I have a feeling that the missing 2% will haunt me later on.


All and all I was impressed with how simple it appeared to used for making a flyer with its dynamic text movement around the image.
__________________
Retired G5 2 X 2.5 - She lost her mind (could not find her DIMM slots anymore)
'Mature' MacPro (early 2008) - dead 8800GT + Radeon 5870 = still pretty solid machine
iriejedi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2006, 11:15 AM   #7
IJ Reilly
macrumors P6
 
IJ Reilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Palookaville
Quite a few people are reporting this problem over at Apple Support. No answers yet.
__________________
*The season starts too early and finishes too late and there are too many games in between.
Bill Veeck
IJ Reilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2006, 09:13 PM   #8
iriejedi
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Nor Cal
Send a message via AIM to iriejedi Send a message via Yahoo to iriejedi
The Answer

Quote:
Originally Posted by IJ Reilly
Quite a few people are reporting this problem over at Apple Support. No answers yet.

I used my PC's VERY non sophisticated (maybe even shareware) software called Record Now by SONIC to make an EXACT copy.

And it installed successfully!!!!!!!

This was even after 2 more failed attempts of installing the origial DVD

None of my Mac's programs would copy or make an image... yet one more reason to keep a CHEAP crappy windows PC around... they have their uses - albiet they are FEW and Far Between.

Woo Hoo - saves me a trip to the Apple Store! (Which is only good cause even a straight exchange would likely cause me to spend some cash there... always ready to suppport the Mother Ship)!
__________________
Retired G5 2 X 2.5 - She lost her mind (could not find her DIMM slots anymore)
'Mature' MacPro (early 2008) - dead 8800GT + Radeon 5870 = still pretty solid machine
iriejedi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2006, 12:00 AM   #9
IJ Reilly
macrumors P6
 
IJ Reilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Palookaville
Making a dmg of the install DVD on another Mac is working for some people. Others are reporting that cleaning the install DVD works for them. I'd try both (if possible) before pushing the panic button.
__________________
*The season starts too early and finishes too late and there are too many games in between.
Bill Veeck
IJ Reilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2006, 08:50 AM   #10
G wizz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: look over your right shoulder, look there I am, see me?
I have had a similar problem in that the install icon flashes for a nano-second on the dock but will not install iworks 06 or ilife 06. Called Apple care and they were not very helpful. So they advised me to go to the New Brent cross store with my imac G5 and let them sort it out. So I made the long trip (62 miles) on a Friday to Apple store at Brent cross at 10 a/m, only to find the store didnt open until Saturday So I thought now I am in London I may as well get on a tube at visit Regent street. The only slot they has was 8:45 PM.

So I told them I want my money back, why they asked, so I explained the situation. They managed to get me in at 3pm. Only to be told I had to re-install and delete all previous items.

Why couldnt applecare have told me that so I ddint have to lump my g5 about and waste a day.

Still haven't installed it, and discovered in keynote you still cant have more than one audio item like you do in imovie. Also is there an option to export a keynote presentation to DVD and play it on the a DVD player????.
G wizz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2006, 10:23 AM   #11
IJ Reilly
macrumors P6
 
IJ Reilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Palookaville
Apple is evidently admitting to a bad batch of iWork install DVDs and I believe (in the States at least) is replacing them on request.

Others have solved this problem by using the iWork preview DVD included with iLife or the pre-installed preview versions on newer Macs. The preview versions are the same as the full versions -- just use the registration code to fully activate.
__________________
*The season starts too early and finishes too late and there are too many games in between.
Bill Veeck
IJ Reilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2010, 11:51 PM   #12
angiebrooks
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
iWork installation fail

I was having this problem also with iWork on my brand new iMac. It just said an "error" occurred and for me to contact the software manufacturer. I wiped the disc with the cloth that came with the computer. It worked after that. Go figure!
angiebrooks is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Several errors trying to install iTunes? TH55 iPhone 5 Jan 29, 2014 01:02 PM
Have iWork any need to install Office? Luba Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Jan 20, 2014 05:42 AM
Install iWork 09 On New Mac tacticalvi Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Nov 19, 2013 03:18 AM
Install iWork 09 on New MBP and Mavericks? neutrino23 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Nov 3, 2013 01:00 AM
OS X Mountain Lion Install Errors tfitch OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Sep 12, 2012 08:54 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC