Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2006, 01:10 AM   #1
Macsavy72
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Build-A-Mac

I have a question-- It is possible that I will not be able to do so.

My first and only mac is a Performa 6200.. I obtained it from a school where I got my Assocates in Graphic Design before the fall of the towers. I have been working with and building PC's since then.

I was wondering what I have to look for to build a Mac.

Specifics are

Processor and Motherboard

If it is possible where can I look online to find these.
Macsavy72 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2006, 04:38 AM   #2
Platform
macrumors 68030
 
Platform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
eBay

People have built G5's from parts...do a search here there is a thread
__________________
Aluminium Macbook | 20" iMac G5 (iSight)
Platform is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2006, 01:08 PM   #3
7on
macrumors 601
 
7on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Punk Hazard
And it's not usually cheaper than buying the real thing from Apple.

Unless you just want to do it as a hobby - I wouldn't recommend building one. You might be able to buy a broken G5 on ebay and fix it up cheaper than a new one cost though.
__________________
jonshipman.com
7on is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2006, 01:12 PM   #4
Airforce
macrumors 6502a
 
Airforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Building a Mac is easy these days! Go check out the compatibility list floating out there and grab some x86 parts. Since OS X can run on x86 hardware now, it is just as easy building a Mac as it is building a PC.

Unless of course you want to stay with PPC...which would just be...odd
Airforce is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2006, 07:18 PM   #5
iIra
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
It isn't quite that easy. As I understand it, the Macintels (not mactels ) use EFI or whatever it is instead of a normal BIOS. They also have some sort of device that Apple recently filed a patent for that is meant to keep OS X off of non-Apple computers.
__________________
Former computers:
Penryn MBP 2.5 GHz 2GB 250 GB Leopard/Vista
Mac mini 1.42 GHz 512 MB 80 GB Tiger
Macintosh Plus 8 MHz 1MB 20 MB (External SCSI Drive) OS 7.1
iIra is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2006, 08:11 PM   #6
Boelman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
i would be more worried about how unstable the machine would be
Boelman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2006, 08:59 PM   #7
Reflow
macrumors 68000
 
Reflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ/PHL
Send a message via AIM to Reflow
I would look on Ebay they sell a lot of enclosures cases that you can chose from and then build from there. If you’re looking for a Quicksilver case I have one from a previous trade in
__________________
2010 Mini Server/Apple 24" LED monitor/2010 UMBP 128GB SSD/2010 MBA/iPhone4/iPad 3
Reflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2006, 09:19 PM   #8
ll350
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Since you are coming from a background of building PC's I'll approach the question from that perspective. In the PC world you can buy the parts brand new, and build a PC cheaper or at a comparable price to buying one from a retailer.

This is impossible to do with a Mac

To build a Mac from parts you'd have to either:

1.Buy used or old parts and get exactly the right ones for the Mac you are trying to build. Here you have the problem of the reliability of the part you purchased. In addition, given the way apple's been cutting prices you will probably end up paying just as much if you start from scratch, as you would spend just buying a new mac.

2.Buy new parts from places that stock mac parts. There are a very few places that will sell a consumer brand new replacement parts for Apple computers. The problem is that they charge a high markup on the parts, so unless you only needed one specific part it wouldn't make economic sense to buy all the parts from these re-sellers. If you did for some reason try to buy all the parts new from them, you'd easily end up paying 4-5 times the cost of the new computer bought fully assembled and working from apple.

So, if you are planning on just playing around a little, you're best bet would be to buy a mac mini, refurb from the Apple store. You'll spend about $400, it'll be compatible with the monitors and stuff you use now (Except for PS/2 keyboards but you can buy an apple USB keyboard for like $25) If you don't like it, you can sell it in the marketplace for close to what you paid.

if the mac mini is still out of your budget, just look around for a deal on a used g4 or g3 powermac.

If you want a workstation, a powerfull computer that you can use as your full time system, then you're still beter off just buying a powermac or iMac from apple. if that is out of your price range, a latter model G4 and get a processor upgrade (933 Mhz and up I beleive have standard slot for single or dual processor upgrades) you'll probably want to upgrade the memory as well, which is a little more difficult than PC's but not much, for any G4 powermac besides the MDD (Mirrored Drive Doors) you're gonna need SDRAM, not DDR. I'm not entirely sure which models take which speed, but if you buy PC133 SDRAM, it should be able to run in the PC100 slots on older G4's as well. And the Mirrored Drive Door Powermacs take PC2700 DDR I think.
ll350 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2006, 02:15 PM   #9
bigandy
macrumors G3
 
bigandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murka
if you're looking at building a new Intel based mac, good luck, because there aren't any EFI motherboards available yet commercially...

it'll be next year i rekon before this even gets talked about, or 2194 when vista finally comes out.
__________________
"any day that involves cat pee is a really bad day" - iBlue
bigandy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2006, 03:38 PM   #10
superbovine
macrumors 68030
 
superbovine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
article on this topic...

http://www.g4tv.com/screensavers/fea..._Software.html
superbovine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2006, 09:25 PM   #11
excalibur313
macrumors 6502a
 
excalibur313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cambridge, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigandy
if you're looking at building a new Intel based mac, good luck, because there aren't any EFI motherboards available yet commercially...

it'll be next year i rekon before this even gets talked about, or 2194 when vista finally comes out.
I remember reading someone saying that gateway used efi motherboards a while ago and it worked fine because efi can support bios. As I understand it, the biggest problem with this adventure is that Apple hardwired something onto the board that is required in order to run os x. I can't remember the company who makes it but a few months ago people were up in arms because I guess this chip could potentially force people to use particular programs for particular tasks. (ex: requiring someone to use the up to date windows media player for a wmv file)
excalibur313 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2006, 09:15 PM   #12
Mechcozmo
macrumors 603
 
Mechcozmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by ll350
...you'll probably want to upgrade the memory as well, which is a little more difficult than PC's but not much, for any G4 powermac besides the MDD (Mirrored Drive Doors) you're gonna need SDRAM, not DDR. I'm not entirely sure which models take which speed, but if you buy PC133 SDRAM, it should be able to run in the PC100 slots on older G4's as well. And the Mirrored Drive Door Powermacs take PC2700 DDR I think.
1. It is easier to install RAM on a PowerMac G4. You shut down the computer, open side, insert RAM, close side, start up.
2. You need to check a website like OWComputing.com or Crucial.com to get Mac compatible RAM. Macs are more finky with their RAM and 'normal' PC100/133/2700 RAM will cause kernel panics, crashes, etc.


Oh, and the PSUs inside Macs have been custom for a number of years. They deliver a very high wattage (the G5s have 800W I think) but are custom-shaped, custom-made, and there isn't a flame's chance on Hoth of you being able to get one on your one. A standard ATX one may work, but no guarantees on pinouts, etc.
__________________
This is not the signature you're looking for.
This is not the signature we're looking for.
You can scroll down now.
You can scroll down now.
Mechcozmo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2006, 01:43 PM   #13
jhu
macrumors 6502a
 
jhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mechcozmo
1. It is easier to install RAM on a PowerMac G4. You shut down the computer, open side, insert RAM, close side, start up.
2. You need to check a website like OWComputing.com or Crucial.com to get Mac compatible RAM. Macs are more finky with their RAM and 'normal' PC100/133/2700 RAM will cause kernel panics, crashes, etc.


Oh, and the PSUs inside Macs have been custom for a number of years. They deliver a very high wattage (the G5s have 800W I think) but are custom-shaped, custom-made, and there isn't a flame's chance on Hoth of you being able to get one on your one. A standard ATX one may work, but no guarantees on pinouts, etc.
the only macs that used a standard atx psu was the beige g3. the b&w g3 and yikes! g4 could use an atx psu with minimal modifications.
__________________
athlon 64 :: debian 4.0
pentium 3 :: debian 4.0
bcm5352 :: openwrt rc4
powerpc750 :: mac os x 10.4.8
powerpc603 :: netbsd 3.1
jhu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2006, 02:45 AM   #14
Mechcozmo
macrumors 603
 
Mechcozmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhu
the only macs that used a standard atx psu was the beige g3. the b&w g3 and yikes! g4 could use an atx psu with minimal modifications.
Thanks, I forgot to mention these in my post. But you rarely find one of those era Macs without PSU; they've all past that part of the danger breakdown curve and are awaiting some other form of destruction.
__________________
This is not the signature you're looking for.
This is not the signature we're looking for.
You can scroll down now.
You can scroll down now.
Mechcozmo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2006, 04:43 AM   #15
kadajawi
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by excalibur313
I remember reading someone saying that gateway used efi motherboards a while ago and it worked fine because efi can support bios. As I understand it, the biggest problem with this adventure is that Apple hardwired something onto the board that is required in order to run os x. I can't remember the company who makes it but a few months ago people were up in arms because I guess this chip could potentially force people to use particular programs for particular tasks. (ex: requiring someone to use the up to date windows media player for a wmv file)
Yes, I recall something like Paladium or TCPA... it can limit the software you use, makes the computer unusable without internet access, control all sorts of stuff like what media files you are allowed to use and how often, and even do this cool self destruct thing from Mission Impossible with your emails... allows your boss to deleted insulting mails sent by your collegue after they were sent, ... at least that is what they want to be able to do, or could be able to do with it.
These sort of stuff will be even more fun when some "hackers" find ways to use your system for their uses.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trusted...tform_Alliance
http://www.gnu.org/philosophy/can-you-trust.html

Ah well, but its not a Mac exclusive thing, Microsoft, Intel, the music industry and more are part of this.
kadajawi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2006, 01:37 PM   #16
Airforce
macrumors 6502a
 
Airforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mechcozmo
and there isn't a flame's chance on Hoth of you being able to get one on your one.
You can buy one off the net....Just go a froogle search for g5 apple power supply.
Airforce is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2008, 01:27 PM   #17
willdr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
What about outlet

I recently found an outlet that claims to sell used mac parts so you can build a name brand system and get past the whole solo os thing. Think it would work or do that systems require that all the parts recognize eachother in some way to ensure they are all from the same system?
willdr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2008, 01:43 PM   #18
Sawtooth811
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charleston, IL
Hey, I'm building another Sawtooh G4, since I have spare parts and an extra motherboard & processor, but I need a Tower casing and Power supply.

Your best bet is to look on eBay, or other places where you can bid on or buy parts for cheap.
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1 QC 2.66GHz 8GB PCS HD 7870 3.5TB X.10 DP5/W7U
iPhone 5 16GB
MSi Wind U123 1.66GHz Atom 2GB 160GB W7U
Sawtooth811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2008, 10:04 PM   #19
ebel3003
macrumors 6502a
 
ebel3003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: "The Google"
Easy and cheap:
http://lifehacker.com/software/hack-...800-321913.php
__________________
http://funnyvibe.net
MacBook Pro 15" (Late 2013 w/ 750M) | Samsung Galaxy S5 | Nexus 7 (2013)
ebel3003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2008, 10:08 PM   #20
JDR
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
This thread is 2 years old, btw.....
__________________
'08 Penryn MBP 15''
'05 iBook G4 14''
'08 Canon EOS 40D
since 2005
JDR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2008, 06:51 AM   #21
SmurfBoxMasta
macrumors 65816
 
SmurfBoxMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: If you come into the forest really late at night, I might tell you...or nOt :)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawtooth811 View Post
Hey, I'm building another Sawtooh G4, since I have spare parts and an extra motherboard & processor, but I need a Tower casing and Power supply.
YHPM
__________________
Please don't judge me...I was created to be AWESOME, not perfect
SmurfBoxMasta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2008, 02:09 PM   #22
Sweetfeld28
macrumors 65816
 
Sweetfeld28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Buckeye Country, O-H
Send a message via AIM to Sweetfeld28
How to Build a Mac for around $350

Personally, i would just get a Mini.
__________________
Laptop: 15" Unibody MacBook Pro [Penryn], 2.53 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 250 GB HD, nVidia 9400M
Desktop: Mac Pro [Harpertown] 2.8GHz Quad, 7GB RAM, 120 GT, 24" LED Cinema Display Mobile:iPhone

Last edited by Sweetfeld28; Feb 6, 2008 at 02:17 PM.
Sweetfeld28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2008, 02:36 PM   #23
FreedomDesign
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Houston area
Just find a G4 Gigabit Ethernet or higher, max out the ram and add the Newer Technologies 1.6Ghz dual processor (or the faster and cooler 1.8 but its 2X the $ right now). You will have a great "trailing edge" Mac that will run quite well. And all for well under a grand.
Im not a mac mini fan just because you can't expand it and it dosen't run dual monitors well. If you like to tinker with your comp. and be able to upgrade it for several years, the mini is not the way to go. Just MHO.
__________________
The Wayniac

640K ought to be enough for anybody.
~Bill Gates
FreedomDesign is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2009, 09:31 PM   #24
mitchuba
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Mac Pro

I recently buought a Mac Pro 2 from a friend who had upgraded his computer. The Hard drive was taken out and so was one of the 512 MB sticks. that is all that is missing form the computer....unfortunately i was a little trigger happy when i got it and tried to take my G4 mac hard drive out and put it in the Mac Pro 2 and proceeded to fry my hard drive...yay go me. but i did read up on how to put a hard drive into to mac and i it step by step. i also use a Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 80 Gig hard drive which they SAID was compatable with the Mac Pro 2.... now i have no computer and a beast that needs to be unleased. please help me know what i need to do to get the computer up a running.

ps. yes this is my first time trying to build/ repair anything so and details that you would take for granted... remember i wont

Mitch
mitchuba is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build NAS using Power Mac G4 or G5? SharkGirl PowerPC Macs 32 Jan 20, 2014 10:56 PM
Build a Mac Pro or wait for the new one? ChitoCrisis Mac Pro 21 Jun 18, 2013 02:36 PM
Can I build my perfect mac... cailadd MacBook Pro 13 Mar 3, 2013 01:21 PM
Help with Mac build for gaming Mreid0890 iMac 8 Feb 11, 2013 04:31 PM
Mac mini OR custom build? iballer87 Mac mini 8 Feb 3, 2013 11:50 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC