Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacBytes.com News Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 17, 2006, 08:28 AM   #1
MacBytes
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Video of iMac Core Duo vs. iMac G5 Booting




Category: Mac OS X
Link: Video of iMac Core Duo vs. iMac G5 Booting
Description:: No explanation required

Posted on MacBytes.com
Approved by Mudbug
MacBytes is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2006, 08:46 AM   #2
virus1
macrumors 65816
 
virus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: LOST
quicktime doesn't play it
__________________
No, really. I completely understand you. (Pay no attention to my 'tar)
virus1 is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2006, 09:00 AM   #3
iJaz
macrumors 6502a
 
iJaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
doesn't work for me either!
__________________
Home: PM G5 2.3 GHz 4.5 GB RAM, 20" ACD, 1G 512 MB and 2G 1GB Shuffle, 4 GB nano RED, 80 GB iPod, iPhone 3G S⃣ 32 GB Black. Work: MacBook C2D 2.0 GHz 4GB RAM
iJaz is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2006, 10:06 AM   #4
Danksi
macrumors 68000
 
Danksi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nelson, BC. Canada
Works in Firefox, eventually, takes a bit of time to download the movie in the background.
__________________
Kootenay Mountain Biking

Last edited by Danksi; Jan 17, 2006 at 10:29 AM.
Danksi is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2006, 10:39 AM   #5
dubbz
macrumors 68020
 
dubbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Alta, Norway
Ye, works in Firefox, at least.

Some ~10 seconds after the G5 iMac displays the small Apple boot logo, the Intel iMac is already displaying the OS X desktop.
__________________
"If a tree falls in the forest... I'll kill the bastard what done it!" - Jaheira
dubbz is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2006, 10:49 AM   #6
joepunk
macrumors 68030
 
joepunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: a profane existence
Send a message via AIM to joepunk
Wow! what a fast machine. And here I was thinking that my PB was fast a startup.
__________________
2010 15" MBP 2.4 i5 4gb/320gb/GT330-256MB 10.9.2
2004 15" PBG4 1.5ghz/128vram DYING, Replacement: 2005 15" PBG4 1.5ghz/64vram
iMac G3 333mhz/128mbRam/6gbHD

Flickr
joepunk is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2006, 10:55 AM   #7
Danksi
macrumors 68000
 
Danksi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nelson, BC. Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by joepunk
Wow! what a fast machine. And here I was thinking that my PB was fast a startup.
.. I assume it hasn't slowed down since the introduction of the Intel machines either?
__________________
Kootenay Mountain Biking
Danksi is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2006, 10:58 AM   #8
la Mac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
When there will be more Universal Binary-software, the speed improvement will be EVEN GREATER .
 la Mac is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2006, 11:04 AM   #9
Sdashiki
macrumors 68040
 
Sdashiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Behind the lens
Brand new Intel iMac vs. Brand New G5 iMac
Who will win the boot test?
Both machines have 512mb of RAM
Both came out of the box and where set up today.
Who will boot faster??


bad grammar
Sdashiki is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2006, 11:12 AM   #10
dubbz
macrumors 68020
 
dubbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Alta, Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdashiki
Brand new Intel iMac vs. Brand New G5 iMac
Who will win the boot test?
Both machines have 512mb of RAM
Both came out of the box and where set up today.
Who will boot faster??


bad grammar
ZOMG!!!11one
__________________
"If a tree falls in the forest... I'll kill the bastard what done it!" - Jaheira
dubbz is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2006, 12:16 PM   #11
Danksi
macrumors 68000
 
Danksi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nelson, BC. Canada
Just timed my iMac - 65 seconds from cold start to useable desktop - I had to log in as well. Happy with that, especially since I usually start from sleep mode anyway, which is quicker.

Couldn't go back to the movie and compare times.
__________________
Kootenay Mountain Biking
Danksi is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2006, 09:14 PM   #12
freiheit
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California
Something's wrong with that G5 iMac

The iMac G5 just appears to be crippled in some way. It could be a trick of the video frame rate, but you can watch the boot image load in three stages. My dual G4 PowerMac doesn't even do that, it brings the boot image right up in one swift step 18 seconds after I power on (power on, not wake from sleep -- I don't sleep my Mac, I always shut down). My full 10.4.4 desktop, including logging in to iChat, takes 53 seconds from power on.

Dual 1.25GHz G4
1.5GB PC2700 RAM (3x512MB)
Radeon 9800 Pro
80GB UDMA100 boot drive
160GB SATA data drive

Yeah, there seems to be something very wrong with that G5 iMac in the video if it takes that long.
__________________
Without doubt the best OS X versions were 10.3 and 10.6. It's still too soon to tell about 10.9 but so far so good.
freiheit is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2006, 09:35 PM   #13
Daveway
macrumors 68040
 
Daveway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Orleans / Lafayette, La
Send a message via AIM to Daveway
Did he just choke his 1tb bandwidth on .mac, because the page is down.
__________________
Spare me my life.
Daveway is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2006, 10:44 PM   #14
macosxuser01
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
watch it on youtube
http://www.youtube.com/?v=zmaAZwkhYeQ
__________________
15" MacBook Pro, i5 2.53 GHz, 8GB RAM, 500GB HD, OS X 10.9.4 | iPhone 5C 16GB, iOS 7.1.2
macosxuser01 is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2006, 10:50 PM   #15
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de Mxico
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
I got 38 seconds on my iMac back when it had 512 MB of RAM.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2006, 11:01 PM   #16
technicolor
macrumors 68000
 
technicolor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ><><><><
Hmmm

I dont know my imac g5 doesnt take that long to boot. I dont think this one boot is representative of the difference between g5s and intels.
technicolor is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2006, 11:04 PM   #17
buryyourbrideau
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chicago
Send a message via AIM to buryyourbrideau
That intel boot is seriously insane.
__________________
And when it all goes to hell....

buryyourbrideau is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2006, 11:25 PM   #18
cycocelica
macrumors 68000
 
cycocelica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Send a message via AIM to cycocelica
wow that is just insane!
__________________
Seattle sports = fail
cycocelica is offline   0
Old Jan 18, 2006, 01:05 PM   #19
blufire
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Yeah, I timed my new 1.9GHz iMac G5, which is loaded with extras and has been "lived-in" for a few months, and it booted in under a minute cold.
blufire is offline   0
Old Jan 18, 2006, 01:58 PM   #20
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
They've been talking about this at OSNews.com too. It seems as though a lot of people are complaining that the iMac G5 isn't working properly. It does seem odd, considering the comments made on other machines' boot times.
bousozoku is offline   0
Old Jan 18, 2006, 02:58 PM   #21
sjk
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Eugene
I'd like to hear specific times between the various stages of startup, from power-on to chime to Apple logo to login screen (or desktop, for auto-logins).

Also, my understanding is that more RAM and certain devices will increase startup time because of POST initialization (or whatever it's called on a Mac). The selftest-#megs Open Firmware NVRAM variable controls how much RAM is tested, too. And differences in system startup items will cause variance.

Without more objective testing with known system configurations the random reports of startup times seem pretty useless for genuinely meaningful comparison purposes.
sjk is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacBytes.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2007 duo core 24" iMac Gaboonviper96 iMac 0 Aug 9, 2013 09:05 AM
Upgrading iMac Core 2 Duo phoenixsan iMac 16 Apr 30, 2013 08:30 PM
iMac Core 2 Duo (Late 2009) lukelc iMac 3 Feb 18, 2013 05:08 PM
Mid 2007 iMac CPU upgrade: Core 2 Duo to Core 2 Extreme or Core 2 Quad Hexley iMac 2 Dec 9, 2012 09:56 AM
Upgrade Late 2006 17in iMac core 2 duo 2.0 to core 2 quad q6600? drjaymez iMac 6 Oct 21, 2012 05:42 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC