Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X Yosemite (10.10)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 5, 2014, 07:34 AM   #1
yjchua95
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Queenstown, NZ and Melbourne, VIC, Australia (current location)
Send a message via Skype™ to yjchua95
Caution - Yosemite may screw up partitions.

Good day all,

Just thought I'd give any potential Yosemite testers a heads-up.

After installing Yosemite into a second partition in my internal SSD, I discovered that Yosemite had somehow messed up the partitions, to the point that:

1. What used to appear as Apple SM0512F now appears as only Yosemite.

2. Repairing disk permissions for the Yosemite partition is no longer possible. I have not tried repairing the disk from an external bootable drive yet, however.

3. For the entire SSD, it's not possible to erase the SSD at all. I have not tried removing the Yosemite partition yet to see whether it's possible to erase the SSD or not.

Anyway, I'm going to attempt to boot up from an external drive and see whether it's possible to erase the entire SSD from there. I'll post back with results.

Update: It's not possible to erase the entire SSD. It's also not possible to remove the Yosemite partition, apparently. Repairing it from an external boot device comes up with an Invalid Disk Label @ 39341604864: cksum mismatch.

Only after erasing the Yosemite partition, I was able to remove the Yosemite partition and restore the SSD to a single partition. Erasing the Yosemite partition also resulted in the drive label reverting back to its original name of Apple SSD SM0512F.

TL;DR variant:

The only problem users will face is that the user cannot verify/repair disk permissions for the Yosemite OS X partition, regardless of where you're trying to repair it from, be it from Yosemite itself or from another OS X installation.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2014-06-05 at 19.31.03.png
Views:	1066
Size:	443.3 KB
ID:	475181   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2014-06-05 at 19.31.07.png
Views:	746
Size:	455.4 KB
ID:	475182  
__________________
If you are a MacRumors newbie, chances are I will disregard your post.

Last edited by yjchua95; Jun 5, 2014 at 08:18 AM.
yjchua95 is online now   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2014, 09:23 AM   #2
BDM STUDIOS NL
macrumors 65816
 
BDM STUDIOS NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by yjchua95 View Post
The only problem users will face is that the user cannot verify/repair disk permissions for the Yosemite OS X partition, regardless of where you're trying to repair it from, be it from Yosemite itself or from another OS X installation.
Thanks for this! When I rebooted in Mavericks SSD, the option Repair Disk is added to the Yosemite SSD. Both options for permissions for Yosemite SSD are greyed out in disk utilities, regardless the OS X SSD booting from.

~ Cheers
__________________
MP 5.1 (2012) DODECA @ 2.66 Ghz | 24GB | 500GB 840 EVO's RAID0 @ DUO X2 | WD RED 4TB RAID0 | 2600 HD XT (MAC) + GTX-670 FTW 4GB (PC)

Last edited by BDM STUDIOS NL; Jun 5, 2014 at 09:24 AM. Reason: typo
BDM STUDIOS NL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2014, 09:27 AM   #3
KoolAid-Drink
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by BDM STUDIOS NL View Post
Thanks for this! When I rebooted in Mavericks SSD, the option Repair Disk is added to the Yosemite SSD. Both options for permissions for Yosemite SSD are greyed out in disk utilities, regardless the OS X SSD booting from.

~ Cheers
It shows as invalid from Snow Leopard. Very strange. I wonder why this is. Mavericks, however, shows it normally, but there are some additional lines when verifying the partition with First Aid.
__________________
13" i7 MacBook Pro Late-2011; 10GB of RAM, 750GB Momentus XT Hybrid HD; AT&T 32GB Silver 5s
KoolAid-Drink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2014, 09:42 AM   #4
PBG4 Dude
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I installed to a partition on an external drive, yet Yosemite installed boot code to my internal SSD. This surprised me. When Yosemite's bootstrap tried to find the external drive and couldn't, it offered to reinstall Yosemite for me.

Changed my startup disk and was back to 10.9.3 after a reboot and all seems well, but just wanted to mention. This could be related to internet recovery though, just thought of it now and won't be able to check until later.
PBG4 Dude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2014, 10:06 AM   #5
phillies262834
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I went and created a new partition from Yosemite for Mavericks after finding out that Final Cut Pro x was not compatible with Yosemite yet. Everything worked fine and Mavericks installed correctly, so creating partitions from Yosemite works well.
phillies262834 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2014, 10:39 AM   #6
stiligFox
macrumors 6502a
 
stiligFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 10.0.1.3
Quote:
Originally Posted by yjchua95 View Post
snipped.
Is it possible the drive is encrypted? I've heard that if the drive is encrypted it changes the name of the physical disk. Maybe Yosemite does this by default?
stiligFox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2014, 11:57 AM   #7
bedifferent
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by phillies262834 View Post
I went and created a new partition from Yosemite for Mavericks after finding out that Final Cut Pro x was not compatible with Yosemite yet. Everything worked fine and Mavericks installed correctly, so creating partitions from Yosemite works well.
Final Cut Pro X does work.

A Fix for Final Cut Pro X!

This works for Compressor and Motion as well. Been working well on my nMac Pro 8-Core system. Just run the executable in the package contents. I created an alias in Applications to save time, launches perfectly.
bedifferent is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2014, 12:00 PM   #8
Weaselboy
macrumors P6
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by yjchua95 View Post
Just thought I'd give any potential Yosemite testers a heads-up.
We were discussing this in another thread here and from the "diskutil list" output reported there, it looks like somehow Yosemite is converting the partition to a core storage volume, and that is why you see that double entry and not the drive brand name. Similar to what you see with Filevault or Fusion.

If you look at my post #17 in that thread, you can try and delete the volume using the "diskutil cs delete" command from Terminal.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2014, 12:18 PM   #9
matt2053
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
We were discussing this in another thread here and from the "diskutil list" output reported there, it looks like somehow Yosemite is converting the partition to a core storage volume, and that is why you see that double entry and not the drive brand name. Similar to what you see with Filevault or Fusion.

If you look at my post #17 in that thread, you can try and delete the volume using the "diskutil cs delete" command from Terminal.
I just posted in that thread too, I'm having the same issue.
matt2053 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2014, 12:29 AM   #10
yjchua95
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Queenstown, NZ and Melbourne, VIC, Australia (current location)
Send a message via Skype™ to yjchua95
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiligFox View Post
Is it possible the drive is encrypted? I've heard that if the drive is encrypted it changes the name of the physical disk. Maybe Yosemite does this by default?
Nope, the drive isn't encrypted.
__________________
If you are a MacRumors newbie, chances are I will disregard your post.
yjchua95 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2014, 12:35 AM   #11
Jessica Lares
macrumors 604
 
Jessica Lares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Dallas, Texas, USA
My drive wasn't encrypted either. A quick disk repair fixed my partition table though.

You know... Something screwed up the iTunes permissions the last update too.
__________________
Have You Hugged Your Mac Today?
Daily Expressions | iMac G4 | Late 2011 13" MacBook Pro | iPod Nano (7G) | iPad Mini | iPod Touch (5G) | iPhone 5S
Jessica Lares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2014, 02:12 AM   #12
yjchua95
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Queenstown, NZ and Melbourne, VIC, Australia (current location)
Send a message via Skype™ to yjchua95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessica Lares View Post
My drive wasn't encrypted either. A quick disk repair fixed my partition table though.

You know... Something screwed up the iTunes permissions the last update too.
I've already submitted my issue to Apple through a bug report.

Hopefully it'll be fixed in DP2
__________________
If you are a MacRumors newbie, chances are I will disregard your post.
yjchua95 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2014, 03:42 AM   #13
ssn637
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Switzerland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessica Lares View Post
My drive wasn't encrypted either. A quick disk repair fixed my partition table though.

You know... Something screwed up the iTunes permissions the last update too.
Hi Jessica

Could you please describe what steps you took to fix the partition table? I tried to delete the core storage volume and lost the entire OS X system. The core storage volume is preventing me from repairing disk permissions or modifying the partitions via Disk Utility.
ssn637 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2014, 05:44 AM   #14
Jessica Lares
macrumors 604
 
Jessica Lares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Dallas, Texas, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssn637 View Post
Hi Jessica

Could you please describe what steps you took to fix the partition table? I tried to delete the core storage volume and lost the entire OS X system. The core storage volume is preventing me from repairing disk permissions or modifying the partitions via Disk Utility.
Are you doing this within Yosemite? Or the Recovery partition?

My drive is also still called OS X Yosemite too, but otherwise it's working as normal.

I just did the usual steps of clicking "Repair Disk" under the First Aid tab.
__________________
Have You Hugged Your Mac Today?
Daily Expressions | iMac G4 | Late 2011 13" MacBook Pro | iPod Nano (7G) | iPad Mini | iPod Touch (5G) | iPhone 5S
Jessica Lares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2014, 06:16 AM   #15
ssn637
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Switzerland
The option "Repair Disk" simply verified that the system volume was OK, but didn't modify the core storage properties to "revert" back to a normal partition. I've since downloaded a list of core storage commands and will try the following core storage command from an installation flash disk:

diskutil coreStorage revert
MountPoint|DiskIdentifier|DeviceNode|lvUUID
[-stdinpassphrase | -passphrase [passphrase] | -recoverykeychain file]

Convert a CoreStorage logical volume back to its native type.
The file system must be mounted and resizable (i.e. Journaled HFS+).
Ownership of the affected disk and a passphrase (if encrypted) is required.
Reverting a CoreStorage volume completely returns it to its original state, including restoring the partition type and removing encryption. And itís non-destructive. Slick!
ssn637 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2014, 04:09 PM   #16
KoolAid-Drink
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: California
I also tried repairing the main disk (I have 4 partitions currently, including Yosemite) - the main disk was also named Yosemite. I did a repair from both Mavericks and Recovery, but the name/type (Core) stuck.

So, I run your exact commands and it'll restore the type? How do I fill out the mountpoint/diskidentifier/devicenode/vUUID parts? I'm still a bit confused. Do I do this from Recovery? Can you please clarify/expand - thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssn637 View Post
The option "Repair Disk" simply verified that the system volume was OK, but didn't modify the core storage properties to "revert" back to a normal partition. I've since downloaded a list of core storage commands and will try the following core storage command from an installation flash disk:

diskutil coreStorage revert
MountPoint|DiskIdentifier|DeviceNode|lvUUID
[-stdinpassphrase | -passphrase [passphrase] | -recoverykeychain file]

Convert a CoreStorage logical volume back to its native type.
The file system must be mounted and resizable (i.e. Journaled HFS+).
Ownership of the affected disk and a passphrase (if encrypted) is required.
Reverting a CoreStorage volume completely returns it to its original state, including restoring the partition type and removing encryption. And itís non-destructive. Slick!
__________________
13" i7 MacBook Pro Late-2011; 10GB of RAM, 750GB Momentus XT Hybrid HD; AT&T 32GB Silver 5s
KoolAid-Drink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2014, 04:31 PM   #17
matt2053
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoolAid-Drink View Post
I also tried repairing the main disk (I have 4 partitions currently, including Yosemite) - the main disk was also named Yosemite. I did a repair from both Mavericks and Recovery, but the name/type (Core) stuck.

So, I run your exact commands and it'll restore the type? How do I fill out the mountpoint/diskidentifier/devicenode/vUUID parts? I'm still a bit confused. Do I do this from Recovery? Can you please clarify/expand - thanks!
I would advise *against* doing anything now, unless you have a particular problem you're trying to solve. My partitions are just like yours, but I'm going to leave it that way for now because at least my Mavericks partition works fine right now and I'm a little nervous about screwing that up.
matt2053 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2014, 04:33 PM   #18
Weaselboy
macrumors P6
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoolAid-Drink View Post
I also tried repairing the main disk (I have 4 partitions currently, including Yosemite) - the main disk was also named Yosemite. I did a repair from both Mavericks and Recovery, but the name/type (Core) stuck.

So, I run your exact commands and it'll restore the type? How do I fill out the mountpoint/diskidentifier/devicenode/vUUID parts? I'm still a bit confused. Do I do this from Recovery? Can you please clarify/expand - thanks!
I don't think ssn637 has tried what he posted yet, and I'm not sure that it will work. What he posted is to change an encrypted core storage volume to a standard volume, but I think we have something else going on here with Yosemite. The Yosemite volume has been somehow converted to core storage, but it is not encrypted.

If you want to get rid of that Yosemite partition, in an earlier post above I linked to my comment in another thread here that will work to kill it, then you can expand the remaining Mavs partition back into the now empty space.

The command "diskutil cs list" will show the UUID info.

But if you want to keep testing Yosemite, you might want to just leave things as they are for now.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2014, 04:42 PM   #19
KoolAid-Drink
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
I don't think ssn637 has tried what he posted yet, and I'm not sure that it will work. What he posted is to change an encrypted core storage volume to a standard volume, but I think we have something else going on here with Yosemite. The Yosemite volume has been somehow converted to core storage, but it is not encrypted.

If you want to get rid of that Yosemite partition, in an earlier post above I linked to my comment in another thread here that will work to kill it, then you can expand the remaining Mavs partition back into the now empty space.

The command "diskutil cs list" will show the UUID info.

But if you want to keep testing Yosemite, you might want to just leave things as they are for now.
How about if I want to convert the main partition? I'm baffled by why the main "home" partition table has been changed to Yosemite. I'm not sure if DP2 can fix this. Does that make any sense? Notice the 3 Yosemite partitions in the picture I've attached - one is the 'main' partition, and one is mountable, the other is not. I'm just concerned that my whole partition map has been hosed. Yes, it works fine now, but I'm thinking long-term. Before, the main partition was generically named - I believe it was the name of the actual HD, but not sure.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2014-06-06 at 4.42.02 PM.png
Views:	301
Size:	157.3 KB
ID:	475462  
__________________
13" i7 MacBook Pro Late-2011; 10GB of RAM, 750GB Momentus XT Hybrid HD; AT&T 32GB Silver 5s
KoolAid-Drink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2014, 04:54 PM   #20
Weaselboy
macrumors P6
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoolAid-Drink View Post
How about if I want to convert the main partition? I'm baffled by why the main "home" partition table has been changed to Yosemite. I'm not sure if DP2 can fix this. Does that make any sense? Notice the 3 Yosemite partitions in the picture I've attached - one is the 'main' partition, and one is mountable, the other is not. I'm just concerned that my whole partition map has been hosed. Yes, it works fine now, but I'm thinking long-term. Before, the main partition was generically named - I believe it was the name of the actual HD, but not sure.
I understand exactly what you mean, and it looks like that because of the way things work when creating core storage volumes. They get setup as logical volumes (partitions) and it makes Disk Util look like what you are seeing. Run the command "diskutil list" (without quotes) in Terminal and it will show you the volume layout and help you understand what is going on here.

If you turn on Filevault or use a Fusion drive the same thing happens and you have that double name there instead of 128GB Apple SSD or whatever you had before.

Here is my MBA with Filevault on under Mavs. Totally normal.



The piece we just don't know yet is why a Yosemite install on a second internal partition makes that volume into a core storage volume. But it is not surprising the way Disk Util looks, as that is how it shows core storage volumes like Fusion or Filevault volumes.

You can either leave it and keep on testing Yosemite, or blow off that partition following my linked post. Another user posted he was able to kill the partition following my post and get things back how they were, so I would not be too concerned about any harm from this. Hopefully you have backups from before all this though.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2014, 05:16 PM   #21
Tony.Skid
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Italy
I've installed Yosemite on an external USB, everything wents well, slow but works.

After a while, restarted with internal SSD and Mavericks, Time Machine started with a backup of 30GB...
__________________
Tony

MacBook Pro 15" Early 2011 500GB SSD iPhone 6 64GB Space Grey iPhone 5 16GB Black
Tony.Skid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2014, 05:19 PM   #22
KoolAid-Drink
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: California
Was the external HD plugged in?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony.Skid View Post
I've installed Yosemite on an external USB, everything wents well, slow but works.

After a while, restarted with internal SSD and Mavericks, Time Machine started with a backup of 30GB...
__________________
13" i7 MacBook Pro Late-2011; 10GB of RAM, 750GB Momentus XT Hybrid HD; AT&T 32GB Silver 5s
KoolAid-Drink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2014, 05:29 PM   #23
Tony.Skid
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Italy
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoolAid-Drink View Post
Was the external HD plugged in?
Yes, but it was, and still is, excluded from backup.
__________________
Tony

MacBook Pro 15" Early 2011 500GB SSD iPhone 6 64GB Space Grey iPhone 5 16GB Black
Tony.Skid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2014, 05:45 PM   #24
KoolAid-Drink
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony.Skid View Post
Yes, but it was, and still is, excluded from backup.
That's very odd. Try restarting, holding Shift down while restarting, then Mavericks will boot to Safe Mode. When you get to the login screen, restart normally (don't press Shift again), then next time you're in Mavericks, try restarting the TM backup. Let me know what happens.
__________________
13" i7 MacBook Pro Late-2011; 10GB of RAM, 750GB Momentus XT Hybrid HD; AT&T 32GB Silver 5s
KoolAid-Drink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2014, 07:40 PM   #25
Tony.Skid
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Italy
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoolAid-Drink View Post
That's very odd. Try restarting, holding Shift down while restarting, then Mavericks will boot to Safe Mode. When you get to the login screen, restart normally (don't press Shift again), then next time you're in Mavericks, try restarting the TM backup. Let me know what happens.
Before reading your suggestion, I did something different: restarted with recovery HD, repaired permissions on Mavericks (lot of corrections on iTunes. Maybe because Yosemite had updated iTunes?), then restarted. TM backup now is ending, with a total of 4.98GB. Still, very odd.... Any idea?
__________________
Tony

MacBook Pro 15" Early 2011 500GB SSD iPhone 6 64GB Space Grey iPhone 5 16GB Black
Tony.Skid is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X Yosemite (10.10)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to reduce 4 partitions to 3 partitions? desertman OS X 5 Mar 5, 2014 04:46 AM
All iPads: Caution with Squaretrade 40% Coupon ZipZap iPad 5 Dec 1, 2013 09:19 AM
10.8.5 - caution on upgrading!!!!!! elgrecomac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 61 Oct 12, 2013 01:41 AM
iPhone 5s dock - A word of caution randy98mtu iPhone 0 Sep 20, 2013 05:50 PM
Caution: Disk Image DP2 macrons OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Jun 29, 2013 10:11 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC