Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Web Design and Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 19, 2006, 12:34 PM   #1
Lau
macrumors 603
 
Lau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Stumble Upon - is it legit, and are the referalls accurate?

I recently developed a site for city gardeners (link in my sig), and have been happily pootling along with 30 or so new visitors a day, which is great. However, a week or so ago, I could see in the stats that I had been linked to by someone on www.stumbleupon.com, which again, was great. Now, suddenly I get 350-400 new visitors a day! This is also great, but I will have to start thinking about upgrading the hosting if it continues.

So, I have two questions.

1. Is this Stumble Upon thing a good thing? And if it says I've had 300 or so visitors in my stats yesterday from them, is that true? All I can find on the site is that two people have listed me as a good site, and the only link back from my stats is a referral page - http://www.stumbleupon.com/refer.html, that is obviously masking where the clicks have come from.

2. Has anyone here been listed on the site, and if so, will the visitor numbers drop, or will it continue at this level? Are sites listed at the top of a list and then drop down the list, or is this likely to carry on?

Obviously I'm chuffed to bits that I'm getting so many visitors and that the word's getting out, but it seems strange suddenly have so many hits, and to come from one place like this that I've never heard of before. Please help to quell my paranoia! Thanks.
Lau is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2006, 12:51 PM   #2
cgratti
macrumors 6502a
 
cgratti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Central Pennsylvania, USA
Send a message via AIM to cgratti
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lau
I recently developed a site for city gardeners (link in my sig), and have been happily pootling along with 30 or so new visitors a day, which is great. However, a week or so ago, I could see in the stats that I had been linked to by someone on www.stumbleupon.com, which again, was great. Now, suddenly I get 350-400 new visitors a day! This is also great, but I will have to start thinking about upgrading the hosting if it continues.

So, I have two questions.

1. Is this Stumble Upon thing a good thing? And if it says I've had 300 or so visitors in my stats yesterday from them, is that true? All I can find on the site is that two people have listed me as a good site, and the only link back from my stats is a referral page - http://www.stumbleupon.com/refer.html, that is obviously masking where the clicks have come from.

2. Has anyone here been listed on the site, and if so, will the visitor numbers drop, or will it continue at this level? Are sites listed at the top of a list and then drop down the list, or is this likely to carry on?

Obviously I'm chuffed to bits that I'm getting so many visitors and that the word's getting out, but it seems strange suddenly have so many hits, and to come from one place like this that I've never heard of before. Please help to quell my paranoia! Thanks.
IMO, anything that hijacks your site or links itself to you without your permission or knowledge can't be a good thing.
__________________
PowerMac G5 - 4GB RAM - Adobe Creative Suite 3
cgratti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2006, 01:03 PM   #3
Lau
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Lau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgratti
IMO, anything that hijacks your site or links itself to you without your permission or knowledge can't be a good thing.
Hmm. I just had a poke around the site, and it seems to be a bit like deli.cio.us crossed with a blog. Seems like a good idea and all.

It's not really hijacked my site, it's just directing a lot of visitors there. This is great, as long as their relevant, I guess. I think I'm just a bit freaked out by having a few blogs say "nice site" and getting a few customers, to suddenly have one giant blog saying "nice site" and getting a ton of visitors!

I'd be interested to hear if anyone else has had this happen to their site, or if anyone uses StumbleUpon themselves and can shed some light on what it is!
Lau is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2006, 01:35 PM   #4
munkle
macrumors 68030
 
munkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: On a jet plane
1) If they're just linking to you, isn't that a good thing?

2) Chances are the number of visitors will drop over time but hopefully your number of regular readers will have increased because of it.

I haven't been "stumbledupon" but have been dugged and delicioused (?!). After an initial spike it tends to go down. Last week I got linked to by what I guess is a German links site (a la Fark et al) and have had nearly 15,000 uniques from them alone in a space of a few days, and went through 82GB of bandwidth in just one day
munkle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2006, 01:46 PM   #5
Lau
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Lau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by munkle
I haven't been "stumbledupon" but have been dugged and delicioused (?!). After an initial spike it tends to go down. Last week I got linked to by what I guess is a German links site (a la Fark et al) and have had nearly 15,000 uniques from them alone in a space of a few days, and went through 82GB of bandwidth in just one day
That's great, thanks for the reassurance (although I may actually cry if I have to pay for 82GB of bandwidth!). I thought it probably was a good thing, so, great. Hopefully it'll start taking off. I think the thing that seemed odd was that I'd been delicioused (!) too, but hadn't had a sudden spike like this.

Oh, and I like your site. Looked at it a while back, as it happens, adding to that giant bandwidth bill (but only a little bit ).
Lau is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2006, 02:07 PM   #6
munkle
macrumors 68030
 
munkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: On a jet plane
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lau
Oh, and I like your site. Looked at it a while back, as it happens, adding to that giant bandwidth bill (but only a little bit ).
Ha,ha! It's ok my host offers 1Tb a month (Dreamhost, although it comes with stipulations the cheeky buggers) so feel free to ferret away Although not too much as I'm getting dangerously close to my limit

And the next time I feel like donning my wellies I'll be stopping by to get some hints!
munkle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2006, 04:54 PM   #7
The Past
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
If we are talking about the same stumbleupon, then this s a good thing! You should be pleased. It is a collaborative tool, so if you do not live up they will forget about you in no time anyway.
The Past is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2006, 01:40 AM   #8
nfs2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
As a webmaster i can assure you that stumble upon is a community driven thing that directs people who are interested in your topic to your site. Its members use a toolbar that lets them give a "thumbs up" or a "thumbs down" to any site they visit. The fact that so may people are being refered to your site means people like your site, and are recomending it

Its a very good thing
nfs2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2006, 02:57 AM   #9
Lau
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Lau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Fantastic! Am chuffed to bits now. Thanks, The Past and nfs2.
Lau is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2006, 04:24 AM   #10
superbovine
macrumors 68030
 
superbovine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgratti
IMO, anything that hijacks your site or links itself to you without your permission or knowledge can't be a good thing.
if websites didn't have hyperlinks to other website, for instance GOOGLE, how would we share information on the world wide web?
superbovine is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Web Design and Development

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Received e-mail regarding "NVIDIA GPU Litigation" - Is it legit? Anician MacBook Pro 12 Mar 21, 2011 01:39 PM
Is it me, or are the usb ports the way it is? djvic87 MacBook Pro 2 Jun 10, 2009 10:54 AM
Dreamweaver OEM Download for $99 - Is it Legit? djc728 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Mar 20, 2009 10:14 PM
MS Office for Mac - is it TRUELY compatible with the Windows equivalent? Karvel Mac Applications and Mac App Store 7 Aug 29, 2007 10:51 AM
Since the 160gig is perpendicular, is it faster and worth the money? Imidazole MacBook Pro 2 Oct 27, 2006 10:10 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Privacy / DMCA contact / Affiliate and FTC Disclosure
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC