Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion > Politics, Religion, Social Issues

Old Jun 18, 2014, 05:59 AM   #1
Felasco

480,000 Deaths A Year

According to the CDC, 480,000 people die each year from tobacco use.

http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_stat...index.htm#cigs

Imagine that I coded some Mac software, and when used as directed it killed 480,000 people every year. Imagine that I know in advance that this will happen. Imagine that I'm already very very rich, and that I'm willing to see more Mac users die so that I can get even richer.

Ok sure, agreed, nobody has to download and install my iDeath software, and it's their own fault if they do. Ideally, everybody would just stop using my software.

But imagine that I'm a savvy ruthless developer. I know that as human beings we're all subject to weakness and occasional stupidity, and I intend to exploit that weakness for every single nickel it's worth.

In this imaginary scenario, how long would it be before the entire Mac community rose up against me in outrage and began fiercely fighting back? About ten minutes, right?

After all, we live in a society today where lots of people love to be outraged about lots of things, and we love to point the moralizing finger and condemn. And it seems every other person is an activist of some sort or another.

Isn't it truly amazing how much the tobacco companies get away with?

Most people today, even many religious people, think of the Devil as a mythical figure. I'm beginning to wonder about that. How about you?
Felasco is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2014, 06:04 AM   #2
Eraserhead
macrumors G4

How many people die every year down to alcohol?

And also how many people are born each year thanks to alcohol?
Eraserhead is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2014, 06:07 AM   #3
Felasco

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eraserhead View Post
And also how many people are born each year thanks to alcohol?