Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 21, 2006, 10:32 PM   #1
crazyfortech
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Powerpc How Long?

How long does everyone think ilife and other mac applications will support G4. I just bought a powermac g4 dual 500 and I was wondering if I could get a few more years out of it? I think because apple still retails g4 today, I think it will still be universal on their software for about 2 more years. I know there has already been threads about this, I'm just wondering, kinda mad I bought the powermac. Thanks
crazyfortech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2006, 10:38 PM   #2
yankeefan24
macrumors 65816
 
yankeefan24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NYC
you can probably get a at least a year out of it if not more. Apple still makes the g4 ibook and mini. i think i remember reading somewhere that apple signed something to keep the g4s coming for a couple more years. dont quote me on that.

EDIT: post #100!!!
__________________

MacBook "Black Edition"
23" ACD

Disclaimer: Never take facts I state in a post as totally 100% correct unless otherwise stated.
yankeefan24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2006, 11:07 PM   #3
oingoboingo
macrumors 6502a
 
oingoboingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeefan24
you can probably get a at least a year out of it if not more. Apple still makes the g4 ibook and mini. i think i remember reading somewhere that apple signed something to keep the g4s coming for a couple more years. dont quote me on that.

EDIT: post #100!!!
The agreement they signed was with Freescale. It stipulates that Freescale must fulfill any G4 orders that Apple places with them until 2008. Conversely, Apple can only purchase G4 chips from Freescale. It doesn't mean Apple actually has to buy any G4s...just that Freescale is obliged to make them available to Apple in case they want them. Apple would presumably need a guaranteed supply of G4 CPUs for spare parts and repairs, and probably also as a safety-net.

With regards to the original post in this thread, I can't see why developers would rapidly drop support for G4 chips. The whole point of Universal Binaries is that it's a (supposedly) simple procedure to compile an app which runs equally well on a PowerPC or an Intel. Apple provides ready-built libraries of vector functions which developers can use, thus abstracting away all of the specifics of either Altivec or MMX/SSE coding from the developer and making their code portable across architectures. What's more likely I believe with a system like a dual 500MHz G4 is that the raw CPU speed will fall below the minimum recommended requirements for new software (if it doesn't already) long before the software becomes incompatible with the G4 per se. There have already been examples on these forums of software (such as Aperture) which has a stated CPU requirement of a G5, yet with some very minor tweaking of program parameters in the Finder, will run fine on a G4 (albeit slowly).

Of course that could all be a load of crap and we'll see Steve Jobs up on stage at MWSF 2007 launching the G5/Intel only version of iLife '07, but I highly doubt it
__________________
- 24" 2.8GHz iMac / 512MB nVidia 8800GS
- 15" 2.4GHz MacBook Pro
- 20GB 4G iPod
oingoboingo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2006, 01:46 PM   #4
macmanmatty
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: I have calculated my velocity so precisely that according to Heisenberg's Uncertainty Principle I could be anywhere in the universe
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeefan24
you can probably get a at least a year out of it if not more. Apple still makes the g4 ibook and mini. i think i remember reading somewhere that apple signed something to keep the g4s coming for a couple more years. dont quote me on that.

EDIT: post #100!!!

In my mind forever

But realiscally only for as long as they need to, to make there customers happy. Which is probably about 5 years . By then every one will have a intel machine or 2
__________________
if (os==windows)
{ cout << "Get a TI-83 plus It's more stable than what your using";
}
macmanmatty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2006, 01:58 PM   #5
slb
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Mexico
Send a message via AIM to slb Send a message via MSN to slb
If you bought a Powerbook G4 in December, you had the option of AppleCare for another three years, so you have to figure that for the most part, G4s will be supported by applications for about that long.
slb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2006, 02:33 PM   #6
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
And, um, there's still the "everything that works now will work in five years" approach. Our recording studio runs on a G3 (well, now a G4, with a ZIF upgrade, but still) using Cubase 5 on OS 9. And it tracks audio just as clearly and flawlessly as my friend's G5 quad studio using OSX and ProTools. The only difference is the compression time, which really isn't that important (at least not in the way our studio is set up). So yeah, feel good about your purchase, it will work as long as you want it to.
__________________
quad i7 2ghz Mac Mini/16gb/120gb Vertex3/10.8.5
Mac Mini 2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb Santec ssd/10.8.5
iPad 3 64gb
Atom 330/4gb/32gbSSD/Ubuntu Server 12.04.3
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2006, 05:07 PM   #7
MIDI_EVIL
macrumors 65816
 
MIDI_EVIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
That is a feel good post if i ever read one.

Nice to read.

Rich.
__________________
Too many cameras!
MIDI_EVIL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2006, 05:34 PM   #8
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
*bows* I please to aim.
__________________
quad i7 2ghz Mac Mini/16gb/120gb Vertex3/10.8.5
Mac Mini 2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb Santec ssd/10.8.5
iPad 3 64gb
Atom 330/4gb/32gbSSD/Ubuntu Server 12.04.3
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2006, 03:11 PM   #9
horace
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Glad to hear I'm not the only one running OS9 in the studio! Mine is on a 2001 Quicksilver 733 which I recently upgraded to a 2GHz Powerlogix. Still using the same OS9 build as the day I installed it, and I think I've defragged the audio drive once, maybe twice in 4 years. Don't plan on changing it - they're so cheap second hand now that if it dies I'll probably just get another one :-)
horace is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Long To Download matthew12 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 2 Nov 30, 2011 05:27 AM
How long is too long for a repair? Cecret Mac Basics and Help 6 Feb 26, 2009 11:24 PM
So how long do I have left with my PowerPC Macs. rj-300zx Mac Basics and Help 15 Feb 6, 2009 08:36 AM
How long is too long? princealfie Marketplace Archive 2 32 May 24, 2007 11:34 AM
How long is too long when running your mac in Firewire Target Disk Mode? russianguns Mac Basics and Help 4 Jul 4, 2005 07:43 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC