Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 5, 2014, 06:38 AM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
iStat Menus 5 Brings Refreshed Look, OS X Yosemite Support, More Data




Bjango today released iStat Menus 5, the newest version of its popular Mac system monitor. The program brings a refreshed design, compatibility with OS X Yosemite, and enhanced per-app metrics and stats. Additionally, time and world clocks are now available for more than 120,000 cities along with support for additional languages.

New menubar icons and revamped-drop down menus are emphasized in the new look of iStat Menus 5, which has been designed to fit more in line with the overall look of OS X Yosemite. The app also contains a variety of Yosemite-only and Mavericks-only features, which include overviews for apps using significant energy and Dark Mode compatibility among others.

In addition to these changes, stats on read and write disk activity for individual apps are now available, along with data on specific upload and download activity. Finally, access to additional network information and improved GPU monitoring are also provided through iStat Menus 5.

All of the new additions to iStat Menus 5 join the program's core monitoring abilities, which allow users to track metrics such as realtime CPU and GPU usage, sensors, memory, battery and power, disk usage, and more.

iStat Menus 5 can be downloaded now and comes with a free 14-day trial, as a single license and Family Pack license sell for $16 and $24, respectively. Users upgrading from iStat Menus 3 or 4 are eligible for reduced pricing, with the single license on sale for $9.99 and the Family Pack license available for $14.99.

Article Link: iStat Menus 5 Brings Refreshed Look, OS X Yosemite Support, More Data
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 06:42 AM   #2
Crosscreek
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Margarittaville
I use this and it's a great addition to monitor everything going on with the computer.
Looks great in Yosemite.
Crosscreek is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 06:47 AM   #3
ValSalva
macrumors 68040
 
ValSalva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Burpelson AFB
Nice new look. It will take some time but once most apps are optimized for Yosemite OS X is going to really look beautiful.
ValSalva is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 06:50 AM   #4
Intelligent
macrumors 6502a
 
Intelligent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
"Refreshing Look". Thats looks like it's a Tiger merged with iOS 7 app or something.
__________________
I have had so many computers i can't keep track of it.
lol
Intelligent is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 06:53 AM   #5
Linkiepoo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Sydney
I like this app a lot!
So far I am liking the new design.
Linkiepoo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 07:00 AM   #6
diggy33
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crosscreek View Post
I use this and it's a great addition to monitor everything going on with the computer.
Looks great in Yosemite.
Its one of my favorite Apps
__________________
Early 2013 15" rMBP 2.7GHz/16GB/512GB / Late 2013 13" rMBP 2.4/16GB/256GB
diggy33 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 07:15 AM   #7
bushido
macrumors 603
 
bushido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: España y Germany
the font in the task bar needs to be updated. the words look squeezed and blurry, cant use it like that, my OCD doesnt allow it lol its all i see

edit: had to uninstall, it made my rMBP laggy (Yosemite DP5)
__________________
¡No hables a menos que puedas mejorar el silencio!
Don't judge me by my user name - I was young and stupid xD

Last edited by bushido; Aug 5, 2014 at 07:28 AM.
bushido is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 07:40 AM   #8
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Can't wait to try this. I skipped version 4 because I had no use for the new features, and it was uglier.

This looks like a real update. Been waiting for significant energy support. And it looks like you still get the same discount if you're on version 3---very generous of them.
Cougarcat is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 07:50 AM   #9
Baklava
macrumors 6502a
 
Baklava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Germany
Paying AGAIN!? These annually upgrade costs for iOS and OS X apps make me really sick.
__________________
MacRumors 'iPhone 6 and 6 Plus Models Popping Up in China [...]' - BornAgainMac 'This is what that Chinese chick was trying to say during the keynote. That it was going to be released early in China.'
Baklava is offline   19 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 07:51 AM   #10
attila
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London / Stockholm / Under your bed
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bushido View Post
the font in the task bar needs to be updated. the words look squeezed and blurry, cant use it like that, my OCD doesnt allow it lol its all i see

edit: had to uninstall, it made my rMBP laggy (Yosemite DP5)
I have an allergic reaction to the overall font in Yosemite...
__________________
attila is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 07:54 AM   #11
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baklava View Post
Paying AGAIN!? These annually upgrade costs for iOS and OS X apps make me really sick.
It makes you sick that developers have to eat?
4 came out two years ago, and there's an upgrade price.
Cougarcat is offline   16 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 08:01 AM   #12
Baklava
macrumors 6502a
 
Baklava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougarcat View Post
It makes you sick that developers have to eat?
4 came out two years ago, and there's an upgrade price.
No, I'm speaking as a user who had to upgrade a bunch of apps with almost every major iOS and OS X release. I don't mind if the price would be a bit higher for a lifetime free upgrade.
__________________
MacRumors 'iPhone 6 and 6 Plus Models Popping Up in China [...]' - BornAgainMac 'This is what that Chinese chick was trying to say during the keynote. That it was going to be released early in China.'
Baklava is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 08:11 AM   #13
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baklava View Post
No, I'm speaking as a user who had to upgrade a bunch of apps with almost every major iOS and OS X release. I don't mind if the price would be a bit higher for a lifetime free upgrade.
Well, sorry, but that's unrealistic. Especially at the pennies iOS apps go for.

Also, you aren't required to upgrade every time. Skipped version 3 of iStat because I didn't need its new features.
Cougarcat is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 08:13 AM   #14
ArtOfWarfare
macrumors 603
 
ArtOfWarfare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Send a message via Skype™ to ArtOfWarfare
Interesting. Seems a bit pricey, though, for what it does. All of the information it shows can pretty easily be accessed some other way, it just brings it together in a convenient spot.

If it were priced closer to Battery Status, I'd think about it. $16 seems like an awful lot for so little, though.
__________________
Don't tell me Macs don't last: 2007 iMac, 2007 Mac Mini, 2008 MacBook Air, all Vintage.
(iMac obsoletion: April 28, 2015, MBA: October 14, 2015, Mac Mini: March 9, 2016)
ArtOfWarfare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 08:14 AM   #15
xizdun
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Done, upgrade purchased.

(without first reading the article, that's how much i <3 iStat.)
xizdun is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 08:14 AM   #16
cmChimera
macrumors 68000
 
cmChimera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougarcat View Post
Well, sorry, but that's unrealistic. Especially at the pennies iOS apps go for.
Like Fantastical? Some apps do this reasonably and some don't. I understand that developers have to eat, but don't get greedy.


Also, does this have an Dashboard or Notification Center option? I hate it in the menu bar.
cmChimera is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 08:31 AM   #17
macduke
macrumors 68040
 
macduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Columbia, MO
I always wanted this app. Bought it recently. I never use it. I used to love apps like this back when I would build gaming PCs years ago. They are great when you're always tweaking your performance and trying different hardware. On the Mac it just doesn't make as much sense. Someone mentioned this making their rMBP laggy. Mine has been laggy lately as well. Wonder if iStat is to blame. Might as well uninstall it. There is so much crap running in the background on my computer that it drives me crazy. I need to go through my activity monitor with an axe and cut out all the apps I don't need. Unfortunately some of them always have to run, like Adobe CC crap.
__________________
15" Retina MacBook Pro / Quad 2.6GHz Core i7 / 16GB / 512GB SSD
128GB iPhone 6 Plus / 64GB iPad Mini Retina LTE / Original iPhone & iPad
Canon 7D / 24-105L / 100-400L / Sony RX100 / Xbox One
macduke is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 08:31 AM   #18
sammich
macrumors 601
 
sammich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sarcasmville.
Ah, I bought version 3 back in the day. This will go nicely with my new rMBP, if it ever ships, and let me monitor the 500 or so sensors it has in it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmChimera View Post
Also, does this have an Dashboard or Notification Center option? I hate it in the menu bar.
I'm afraid you'll need to get iStat Notification Centre (http://bjango.com/mac/istatnotificationcenter/) to get that feature. iStat Menu is just for the menu bar. this is a joke, btw
__________________
Official MR IRC
Look at me, I'm own a bunch of things and everyone must know about every single one.

Last edited by sammich; Aug 5, 2014 at 09:01 AM. Reason: sorry, cmChimera
sammich is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 08:42 AM   #19
cmChimera
macrumors 68000
 
cmChimera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sammich View Post
I'm afraid you'll need to get iStat Notification Centre (http://bjango.com/mac/istatnotificationcenter/) to get that feature. iStat Menu is just for the menu bar. this is a joke, btw
Link is dead, and the main page doesn't seem to acknowledge it. Guess they stopped making it. Thanks though!
cmChimera is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 08:50 AM   #20
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmChimera View Post
Link is dead, and the main page doesn't seem to acknowledge it. Guess they stopped making it. Thanks though!
It never existed. We might get one now, though, that there are actual NC widgets in Yosemite which developers will be able to make.

There was a dashboard widget, but it hasn't been updated in ages and I'm not sure if it works anymore.

BTW, anyone using this noticing that "apps using significant energy" aren't reporting the same thing as the OS X battery menu?

Last edited by Cougarcat; Aug 5, 2014 at 08:56 AM.
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 08:57 AM   #21
Farplaner
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
I'm thankful for the upgrade pricing. Definitely buying it when I get home
Farplaner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 08:59 AM   #22
n-evo
macrumors 6502a
 
n-evo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NL
Quote:
Originally Posted by bushido View Post
the font in the task bar needs to be updated. the words look squeezed and blurry, cant use it like that, my OCD doesnt allow it lol its all i see

edit: had to uninstall, it made my rMBP laggy (Yosemite DP5)
OS X doesn't have a taskbar. Never had.
n-evo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 09:02 AM   #23
Rocco83
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baklava View Post
Paying AGAIN!? These annually upgrade costs for iOS and OS X apps make me really sick.
You should be happy that you don't have to pay for the OS upgrade.

Also, what is the point in complaining about paying for an upgrade. You upgrade your phone, you pay. You upgrade your computer, you pay.

Someone put the time and effort into upgrading the UI and options in this app, so why should it be free. If I had someone remodel my kitchen and then a year later the cabinets I used had a better model out I wouldn't expect the guy to come back and replace my old cabinets with the new ones for free.

People expect too many things to be given to them anymore...
Rocco83 is offline   12 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 09:04 AM   #24
Steve121178
macrumors 68020
 
Steve121178's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baklava View Post
Paying AGAIN!? These annually upgrade costs for iOS and OS X apps make me really sick.
You think developers should work for free? What planet are you on?
__________________
13" rMBP Haswell i5/16GB/512GB (Late '13) • 21.5" iMac i5/16GB/1TB Fusion (Late '12) • iPhone 6 64GB • iPad mini 2
Steve121178 is offline   13 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 09:05 AM   #25
bushido
macrumors 603
 
bushido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: España y Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by n-evo View Post
OS X doesn't have a taskbar. Never had.
whatever ... menu bar then
__________________
¡No hables a menos que puedas mejorar el silencio!
Don't judge me by my user name - I was young and stupid xD
bushido is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC