Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Gooz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 10, 2014
Hi All

I've got an old G4/G5...can't remember which it is. I'll add at this point, I'm not very technical when it comes to computers. It's a tower anyway.

I went to turn it on the other day and it worked first go. However, I forgot the name and password so tried to boot form the installation cd. Since then the fan is whirring loudly, and it's not booting up. This had happened before, and I cannot remember if/how I solved it. I removed the cd, but the problem remains.

I have read about opening the mac and cleaning dust out. I tried. I unscrewed parts of the mac, but could not see a way to easily dismantle it.

The point is, it's an old mac, and if this is a sign, it's dying/dead, I'm happy to let it go. I was just hoping to wipe it before I get rid OR salvage it maybe for extra storage space if it did work.

Is it worth trying a bit harder OR am I fighting an eventual losing battle? :) What would my next move be if trying to salvage it?

Any advice appreciated. Thanks :)

G

Macman45

macrumors G5
Jul 29, 2011
Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Hi All

I've got an old G4/G5...can't remember which it is. I'll add at this point, I'm not very technical when it comes to computers. It's a tower anyway.

I went to turn it on the other day and it worked first go. However, I forgot the name and password so tried to boot form the installation cd. Since then the fan is whirring loudly, and it's not booting up. This had happened before, and I cannot remember if/how I solved it. I removed the cd, but the problem remains.

I have read about opening the mac and cleaning dust out. I tried. I unscrewed parts of the mac, but could not see a way to easily dismantle it.