Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

datfann

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 19, 2014
I have a Macbook Air 2013.I used up about 55GB of 128.Most of it is music and pictures but i want to do a backup so i can download the OS X Mavericks.Now how should i do the backup.I am a complete novice.

Nov 28, 2010
located
You get a new external HDD, any 1 TB or bigger HDD, be it a portable 2.5" HDD or a 3.5" desktop HDD will suffice (and it does not need to be Mac specific and can be a USB 3.0 HDD), unpack it, connect it to your Mac, then when Mac OS X asks if you want to use that HDD as Time Machine backup you answer yes.
That formats the HDD (any previous data on it will be deleted) to the correct format and Time Machine backs up to it.
The initial backup will take some time, probably an hour or three with 55 GB over USB 3.0, subsequent backups will be faster.

Time Machine FAQ

To learn more about Mac OS X: Helpful Information for Any Mac User by GGJstudios

To edit your thread title to a descriptive one, to get a knowledgable audience and help making the thread easier to find for people looking for the same information, just click on the
edit.gif
button on the bottom right of your original post and then click the
MR_Edit_GoAdvanced_button.png
button below your message.

datfann

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 19, 2014
Thank you very much.Could you please advice me on what HDD should i buy.And do i need a time capsule maybe for the future.

iterva

macrumors 6502
Jun 16, 2013
Sweden
Thank you very much.Could you please advice me on what HDD should i buy.And do i need a time capsule maybe for the future.

Just pick one. I have the WD My Passport Ultra 1TB and i have no issues with it.

TimeCapsule will be easier(fully automated), but the price on those are much higher.