Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 31, 2006, 03:07 AM   #1
palav2004
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
how to combine audio tracks

hi guys,

I m using core audio API's to play multiple files at single time. I m successful in that. Now my aim is combine these multiple tracks & save it(combined single file) to a disk.

Is this possible by using coreaudio api's?
Please guide me.
palav2004 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2006, 04:39 AM   #2
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
I've never used the audio APIs but I'd have thought the QuickTime APIs could do this if CoreAudio can't...
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2006, 06:34 AM   #3
palav2004
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Is it possible using Core Audio API?

Is combining audio tracks possible using Core Audio API?
palav2004 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2006, 07:30 AM   #4
kwajaln
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CHICAGO!
Can't this be accomplished in GarageBand?
__________________
www.partridgezone.com
iMac G5 20-inch 2.0GHz 2GB RAM
iBook G4 12-inch 1.2GHz 512MB RAM
Wacom graphics tablet
Lacie 500GB HD
Final Cut Studio
kwajaln is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2006, 03:16 AM   #5
palav2004
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Re: combine audio tracks

Hey guys,

Actually I m writing cocoa program in which I m using core audio API's.
So I have got this question that how to combine audio tracks.

By By
palav2004 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2006, 03:37 AM   #6
HiRez
macrumors 601
 
HiRez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Western US
You probably want to combine the tracks using a mixer AU (like MatrixMixer or StereoMixer). Then send the output of that to a FileWriter unit (I think you'd want to set the offline rendering property here). If you need to hear it at the same time, things get trickier I think, because you can only have one output per graph. In that case you need to tap off another unit's buffers from the render callback, copying the data out of the callback function on each pass and manually writing the data to a file in a separate thread. I believe there's an example that does this somewhere (maybe the AULab app included with the Developer install).
__________________
Go outside, the graphics are amazing!
HiRez is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to convince my parents to let me buy a 17" MacBook Pro Ulf1103 Buying Tips and Advice 58 Nov 27, 2013 11:45 AM
Tutorial: How to get PCSX2 to run on Mac (without BootCamp) Mirrors Mac Applications and Mac App Store 22 Jun 14, 2013 08:19 PM
Does anybody know how to get TweetTask? xmelissaxmayhem Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Jul 3, 2011 01:21 AM
[HOW TO] DIY iPhone 4 Swivel Car Mount QuarterSwede iPhone Accessories 13 Mar 8, 2011 02:51 PM
Need help on how to get audio track only off DVD HiFiGuy528 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Feb 12, 2010 12:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC