Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cairene2011

Original poster
Dec 17, 2013
I have a mid-2011 MBA 11" with 4GB and 1.8 GHz i7. Back then it was advertised with 5 hours of battery life, little did I know that these 5 hours were measured with the standard i5 core and don't apply for the i7 I chose at checkout.

Since the beginning the battery never lasted longer than max 3 hours during very light browsing or note-taking in MS Word, quickly it decreased to 2 hours and therefor forced me to constantly recharge my MBA throughout the day. In the end I had over 3500 charging cycles in 3 years and unsurprisingly the battery eventually blew up and dislocated the trackpad and the bottom row of keys.

Apple replaced the battery at their cost admitting that the mid-2011 batteries never truly harmonized with the i7 cores. Still, even the 4 hours on the new battery are not ideal for an ultra-portable machine, so I'll buy a new 2014 MBA 11". I want to max it out again with

1.7 GHz i7
8 GB

but I'm wary that this might affect my battery life yet again. Any owner of this combination around? Do you still get your 9 hours with Wifi, light browsing, word processing and something acceptable (I'm thinking 4 hours+) during editing/rendering with iMovie?

Thanks for your help!! :)

scaredpoet

macrumors 604
Apr 6, 2007
I have a maxed-out i7, 512GB SSD, 8GB RAM 2013 MBA, and with light use (MS Word, Web browsing, e-mail) I can get up 12-13 hours of usage.

Anandtech did a fairly thorough comparison of the i5 vs i7 on the Haswell-based (current iteration) MacBook Air. They concluded that under light use, the battery life is roughly the same (with the i7 even lasting slightly longer). Under heavy load is when the i7 starts drawing more power and battery life suffers:

http://www.anandtech.com/show/7113/2013-macbook-air-core-i5-4250u-vs-core-i7-4650u/4