Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Val-kyrie

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Feb 13, 2005
I am looking at setting up a home server on the current-gen Mini. The refurb store has a 2.3GHz i7 with 4GB RAM and 1TB drive for $679, to which I would add another HDD or SSD and 16GB RAM.

I would like to run a Win 8 VM with Office 2013 on the Mini. (This VM is just for Office docs.)

Unless I purchase another router for my upstairs office (where I would prefer to hook up the Mini), I would have to connect the Mini wirelessly to my (ASUS RT-N66U) router which is currently on the main floor in the living room near the cable box.

So my question is whether a wireless connection would make accessing a VM on the Mini too slow to use for creating Office documents?

I (would) use VMWare Fusion and have toyed with the idea of using the Mini as an ESXi server, but this latter function is new to me and I am still learning about it, and I would still want to use it as an OS X server.

Thanks for your help.

PilotWoo

macrumors 6502
Jul 14, 2006
I do something similar. Multiple VM's on a Mini running in Fusion. I access my VM's on the local network using Remote Desktop (Windows) or VNC/SSH (Unix), and it works great. For remote access from the internet to these machines, use Teamviewer or similar.

You could use wireless and it would be fine, however I user powerline networking to connect the Mini upstairs to the router downstairs, without running cables. The latest ones will run at 500/600Mbs, giving you plenty of bandwidth, and much more than Wifi. Put the VM's on SSD storage and they fly.

paulrbeers

macrumors 68040
Dec 17, 2009
I am looking at setting up a home server on the current-gen Mini. The refurb store has a 2.3GHz i7 with 4GB RAM and 1TB drive for $679, to which I would add another HDD or SSD and 16GB RAM.