Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 3, 2006, 07:11 PM   #1
chibianh
macrumors 6502a
 
chibianh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Colorado
UT2k4 Universal Binary... OUT!

Check it out for all you iNtel Mac owners..

http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/14155

Or for more efficient downloading, the torrent can be found at

http://www.macgamefiles.com/detail.php?item=18155
__________________
MBP-R 15" i7 2.6/16GB RAM/512GB SSD
chibianh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2006, 11:49 PM   #2
jared_kipe
macrumors 68030
 
jared_kipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle
Send a message via AIM to jared_kipe
I believe this is reported earlier, but not the torrent download Thanks. Here's to more sweet updates real soon.
jared_kipe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2006, 03:47 AM   #3
eXan
macrumors 601
 
eXan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Send a message via ICQ to eXan Send a message via AIM to eXan Send a message via Skype™ to eXan
Good. I wonder how fast those i/Mac/Book Pros run this game!

Through Rosetta iMac got only 8 fps
eXan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2006, 05:12 AM   #4
LimeiBook86
macrumors 604
 
LimeiBook86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hanging around in NJ with his cutie. :)
Send a message via AIM to LimeiBook86 Send a message via MSN to LimeiBook86 Send a message via Yahoo to LimeiBook86
I can't wait! I already downloaded the update, all I need to do now is buy UT 2004 for Mac, I have it for my PC but, now I'll be able to play it on my new intel iMac. I played the demo in Rosetta which was bad but, I have high expectations for this! I wish more places other than the Apple Store sold Mac software, oh well, maybe I'll convince my brother to take me there today
__________________
My 'How to Draw Fun Animals' iBook is now on iTunes
"Just you try and stop me..."
My Site Thrift Fails Tech Blog
LimeiBook86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2006, 08:18 AM   #5
topgunn
macrumors 65816
 
topgunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Barefeats has benchmarks of the new Universal version of Unreal on the Intel iMac. In Unreal benchmark, the Core Duo 2.0GHz outscores the 2.1GHz G5 80 to 56 fps.
topgunn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2006, 10:24 AM   #6
LimeiBook86
macrumors 604
 
LimeiBook86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hanging around in NJ with his cutie. :)
Send a message via AIM to LimeiBook86 Send a message via MSN to LimeiBook86 Send a message via Yahoo to LimeiBook86
Quote:
Originally Posted by topgunn
Barefeats has benchmarks of the new Universal version of Unreal on the Intel iMac. In Unreal benchmark, the Core Duo 2.0GHz outscores the 2.1GHz G5 80 to 56 fps.
Oh...my...god... I'm going to get this now! weee!
__________________
My 'How to Draw Fun Animals' iBook is now on iTunes
"Just you try and stop me..."
My Site Thrift Fails Tech Blog
LimeiBook86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2006, 09:23 PM   #7
eXan
macrumors 601
 
eXan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Send a message via ICQ to eXan Send a message via AIM to eXan Send a message via Skype™ to eXan
Quote:
Originally Posted by topgunn
Barefeats has benchmarks of the new Universal version of Unreal on the Intel iMac. In Unreal benchmark, the Core Duo 2.0GHz outscores the 2.1GHz G5 80 to 56 fps.
Well, if this is true, then its awesome!!!

BTW which resolution they used in Ut2004 Bridge of Fate? My iMac (17 inch 2 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM, Radeon 9600 128 MB) gets 35 fps @ 1440x900

*EDIT oh i see they ran those tests @ 1024x768*

I wonder how many FPS new intelMacs get in Starcraft?
eXan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2006, 09:25 PM   #8
ZildjianKX
Guest
 
ZildjianKX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Keep in mind when comparing the different iMacs, the new ones have vastly better graphics cards, so can't compare the processors at all.
ZildjianKX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2006, 09:36 PM   #9
eXan
macrumors 601
 
eXan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Send a message via ICQ to eXan Send a message via AIM to eXan Send a message via Skype™ to eXan
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZildjianKX
Keep in mind when comparing the different iMacs, the new ones have vastly better graphics cards, so can't compare the processors at all.
Note, that UT is a very CPU-bound game as you can see in flyby/botmatch tests
eXan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2006, 11:14 PM   #10
Littleodie914
macrumors 68000
 
Littleodie914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Wow that's amazing! (The speed in an earlier post.) Could somebody with one of the Intel iMacs download the demo and run it just to make sure it's not a hoax? And depending on how fast (or slow) it runs on the new iMacs, how would this compare approximately to the speed on the MacBook? Thanks!
Littleodie914 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2006, 11:20 PM   #11
Littleodie914
macrumors 68000
 
Littleodie914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
A second note... How about the performance of the Intel iMacs in Halo? I was checking out the barefeats.com review that contained the specs for UT2k4 and even when running under Rosetta, the iMac CD 2.0 scored 22fps on average. That's not too bad at all, if you ask me... I play medal of honor on my iBook at sometimes 15-20 in the outdoor levels and I'm very impressed with the speed. Once these games get optimized and "universalized", I can't wait to see how fast they get!

(MacBook Pro for college, here I come! )
Littleodie914 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2006, 12:45 AM   #12
eXan
macrumors 601
 
eXan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Send a message via ICQ to eXan Send a message via AIM to eXan Send a message via Skype™ to eXan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Littleodie914
Wow that's amazing! (The speed in an earlier post.) Could somebody with one of the Intel iMacs download the demo and run it just to make sure it's not a hoax? And depending on how fast (or slow) it runs on the new iMacs, how would this compare approximately to the speed on the MacBook? Thanks!
The high-end MBP (1.83Ghz) should be the about the same as low-end (17 inch) iMac, since they have the same specs
__________________
My WoW videos
13" Retina MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz | 8 GB | 256 GB | Intel Iris
eXan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2006, 01:09 AM   #13
jeffy.dee-lux
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: montreal
is there a way to get this patch to fix the demo for intel as well? I only have the demo, don't want the full game, at least not until i see how the demo performs when its running natively. Do we just have to wait until they release a universal demo?
jeffy.dee-lux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2006, 01:13 AM   #14
eXan
macrumors 601
 
eXan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Send a message via ICQ to eXan Send a message via AIM to eXan Send a message via Skype™ to eXan
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffy.dee-lux
is there a way to get this patch to fix the demo for intel as well? I only have the demo, don't want the full game, at least not until i see how the demo performs when its running natively. Do we just have to wait until they release a universal demo?
They might release UB demo, but I really dont think they will.

BTW you will not see a single framerate drop on the new intel-based machines, so go get this awesome game and have fun!
__________________
My WoW videos
13" Retina MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz | 8 GB | 256 GB | Intel Iris
eXan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2006, 05:12 PM   #15
LimeiBook86
macrumors 604
 
LimeiBook86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hanging around in NJ with his cutie. :)
Send a message via AIM to LimeiBook86 Send a message via MSN to LimeiBook86 Send a message via Yahoo to LimeiBook86
It runs great!

After I heard the news I went out and bought a copy of UT 2004 from my local Apple Store. I installed it on my iMac, updated it with the patch. And set the settings on the highest they would go...the result? A lot of fun. The game runs almost perfectly, I've only gotten minor hiccups when playing full-screen on the highest resolution with everything on high. If I down one level in the screen resolution everything is perfect. I'm running it on my 20" 2ghz Intel iMac with 2gb of RAM with the upgraded 256mb ATI card.

The game runs great, and this is only on the first patch! I can't wait for more updates or fixes, this game continues to be one of my favorites.
__________________
My 'How to Draw Fun Animals' iBook is now on iTunes
"Just you try and stop me..."
My Site Thrift Fails Tech Blog
LimeiBook86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2006, 05:30 PM   #16
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Damn.. I'm strugling to get hold of a copy. No apple store's near me and Apple Online Store doesnt have them.. Is there any website that does shipping to Europe with mac games, new and secondhand?
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2006, 06:56 PM   #17
Josh396
macrumors 65816
 
Josh396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Peoria/Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXan
The high-end MBP (1.83Ghz) should be the about the same as low-end (17 inch) iMac, since they have the same specs
Except you get 256 VRAM on the MBP. I'm sure it won't be a huge factor but it could help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LimeiBook86
After I heard the news I went out and bought a copy of UT 2004 from my local Apple Store. I installed it on my iMac, updated it with the patch. And set the settings on the highest they would go...the result? A lot of fun. The game runs almost perfectly, I've only gotten minor hiccups when playing full-screen on the highest resolution with everything on high. If I down one level in the screen resolution everything is perfect. I'm running it on my 20" 2ghz Intel iMac with 2gb of RAM with the upgraded 256mb ATI card.

The game runs great, and this is only on the first patch! I can't wait for more updates or fixes, this game continues to be one of my favorites.
That's great to hear. I'm tempted to go out and buy the game myself just to try it out. It's nice to see Macs finally catching up to PC's in the gaming side of things.

Last edited by bousozoku; Feb 5, 2006 at 07:00 PM. Reason: posts next to each other
Josh396 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2006, 10:58 PM   #18
chibianh
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
chibianh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by LimeiBook86
After I heard the news I went out and bought a copy of UT 2004 from my local Apple Store. I installed it on my iMac, updated it with the patch. And set the settings on the highest they would go...the result? A lot of fun. The game runs almost perfectly, I've only gotten minor hiccups when playing full-screen on the highest resolution with everything on high. If I down one level in the screen resolution everything is perfect. I'm running it on my 20" 2ghz Intel iMac with 2gb of RAM with the upgraded 256mb ATI card.

The game runs great, and this is only on the first patch! I can't wait for more updates or fixes, this game continues to be one of my favorites.
that's great to hear! What FPS rate are you getting?
__________________
MBP-R 15" i7 2.6/16GB RAM/512GB SSD
chibianh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2006, 11:16 PM   #19
Malfoy
macrumors 6502a
 
Malfoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
I didn't think there were that many UT players here. We all need to get in a game sometime.
__________________
Money
Malfoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2006, 08:53 AM   #20
LimeiBook86
macrumors 604
 
LimeiBook86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hanging around in NJ with his cutie. :)
Send a message via AIM to LimeiBook86 Send a message via MSN to LimeiBook86 Send a message via Yahoo to LimeiBook86
While playing on DM-Antalus with no bots, with everything on high my average FPS were around 60. I got all the way down to 42 and then all the way up to 96 in some spots. This was with no bots though. The only time it went to 42 was when I was splashing in the water shooting the mini-gun all over the place and twirling the mouse around like crazy. When I had a few bots on it was still very playable but, there was a little slow-down for a second or so once and a while but, that's ok because it was hardly noticeable.

I just turned down my resolution one notch and then everything ran smooth with no problems at all. Again this is only the first patch, so I supposed we can get more intel updates/fixes along the way. Happy gaming
__________________
My 'How to Draw Fun Animals' iBook is now on iTunes
"Just you try and stop me..."
My Site Thrift Fails Tech Blog
LimeiBook86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2006, 02:18 PM   #21
Josh396
macrumors 65816
 
Josh396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Peoria/Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by LimeiBook86
I just turned down my resolution one notch and then everything ran smooth with no problems at all. Again this is only the first patch, so I supposed we can get more intel updates/fixes along the way. Happy gaming
I've also heard the X1600 drivers aren't that great right now either. So hopefully with updated drivers and patches things could get much better.
Josh396 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2006, 07:37 PM   #22
LimeiBook86
macrumors 604
 
LimeiBook86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hanging around in NJ with his cutie. :)
Send a message via AIM to LimeiBook86 Send a message via MSN to LimeiBook86 Send a message via Yahoo to LimeiBook86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh396
I've also heard the X1600 drivers aren't that great right now either. So hopefully with updated drivers and patches things could get much better.
Yeah I hope we get those soon
__________________
My 'How to Draw Fun Animals' iBook is now on iTunes
"Just you try and stop me..."
My Site Thrift Fails Tech Blog
LimeiBook86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2006, 03:35 PM   #23
Joeytpg
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vienna, Austria
hi, guys now that i see you talking about U.T. universal binary, i'm having a little problem. I have U.T. 2004 and i was able to play it fine in my powerbook g4 running Panther, but now i try to install it on my new iMac g5 running Tiger and i can't even install it, after it asks me to enter the Code, it won't start the installation, instead it just closes. Any ideas/help?

thanks
Joeytpg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2006, 03:56 PM   #24
Schmittroth
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC, Astoria-Queens
Send a message via AIM to Schmittroth Send a message via Skype™ to Schmittroth
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeytpg
hi, guys now that i see you talking about U.T. universal binary, i'm having a little problem. I have U.T. 2004 and i was able to play it fine in my powerbook g4 running Panther, but now i try to install it on my new iMac g5 running Tiger and i can't even install it, after it asks me to enter the Code, it won't start the installation, instead it just closes. Any ideas/help?

thanks
http://www.macsoftgames.com/products...4-Support.html

Download the updated installer here.
Schmittroth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2006, 08:44 PM   #25
Joeytpg
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vienna, Austria
thank you very much buddy......do i need to install that in the applications folder and then intall the game using the CD??
Joeytpg is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Binary Adding Game KrisJulio iPhone and iPod touch Apps 3 May 9, 2014 10:27 AM
Binary & Xcode americanGTA iPhone/iPad Programming 24 Aug 17, 2013 11:54 AM
Need some help with binary Tander iPhone/iPad Programming 31 Jun 25, 2013 09:00 PM
Cannot execute binary file Please help grandeurfly MacBook Pro 5 Aug 14, 2012 01:11 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC